South Asian Studies
Welcome to the South Asian Studies subject guide - your guide to using the library resources, services and facilities for your subject.
Finding Library Resources - DiscoverEd
DiscoverEd is the one of the main ways to find the resources that are available to you. Your University Login gives you access to DiscoverEd where you can explore many of the online and physical resources, as well as the special repositories within the university collection.
Not everything within the University collection can be identified using DiscoverEd and you may also need to use specific databases to find additional material.
Need help searching DiscoverEd? Have a look at the help pages and FAQs.
Search for South Asian Studies literature
- ASSIA (Applied Social Science Index and Abstracts)Indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly, ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional. It contains records from over 500 journals published in 16 different countries, including the UK and US.
- ATLA Religion DatabaseCovers all aspects of religion. ATLA Serials include full text access to over 80 journals. Citation information will indicate where full text is available.
- Bibliography of Asian StudiesThis on-line version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains 900,000 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
- Historical AbstractsBibliographic reference to the history of the world (excluding United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward. The database covers over 2,600 journals published worldwide, providing an incomparable research tool for students and researchers of world history. The database provides indexing of historical articles in over 40 languages, published from 1955.
- Web of Science Core CollectionCitations and abstracts to millions of journal articles and conference proceedings from all subjects. Impact factors, h-indexes and email alerts available.
Your Academic Support Librarians
Resource lists and Subject guides
Resource Lists are online reading lists that can signpost you to key reading materials. Some of your courses may have a Resource List embedded in the Virtual Learning Environment (VLE) but you can also access them directly. Full details are available on the Resource Lists: Information for Students webpage.
Other subject guides can be a useful source of ideas and information. 
Beginner's guide
This is a short video introducing you to the University Library and it's resources, services and facilities.
- Beginner's guide to the Library - original videoFollow this link to see original video on MediaHopper, with downloadable presentation slides.
Online learning
The Library provides access to many e-resources, but we also provide lots of other services and support for students on online learning programmes.
- Library services for online learning students
- How to set up and use the Virtual Private Network (VPN)