Social Anthropology
Welcome to the Social Anthropology subject guide - your guide to using the library resources, services and facilities for your subject.
Finding Library Resources - DiscoverEd
DiscoverEd
DiscoverEd is the library's discovery tool and library catalogue. Use it to search for books, journals, articles, databases, online access and much more. You can find a simple guide we've made for getting started with DiscoverEd here (Microsoft Sway).
Other useful help pages from our website include:
- Searching DiscoverEd
- DiscoverEd FAQs
- Using the Library
- How to borrow and renew books
- Accessing e-resources
Don't forget that you can ask the Library Helpdesk staff for advice and assistance.
Key databases for Social Anthropology
- Anthropology PlusBrings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. It provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries. It offers excellent coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. Anthropology Plus contains bibliographic records only.
- AnthrosourceAnthrosource is a portal to full text anthropological resources. Search Anthropological Association (AAA) publications , plus a complete electronic archive of all AAA journals to the present.
- IBSS (International Bibliography of Social Science)Produced by the British Library of Political and Economic Science, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) is an essential online resource for social science and interdisciplinary research focusing on the four core social science subjects of anthropology, economics, politics, and sociology.
- Social Sciences Citation IndexPart of Web of Science Core Collection. Indexes 2,100 core journals in all areas of the social sciences, plus relevant items from 3,500 scientific and technical journals. Contains over 2.3 million records.
Exam Papers
Exam Papers Online provides access to the collected degree examination papers of the University from 2004 onwards. They may be used by students as a study aid only.
Your Academic Support Librarians
Resource lists and Subject guides
Resource Lists are online reading lists that can signpost you to key reading materials. Some of your courses may have a Resource List embedded in the Virtual Learning Environment (VLE) but you can also access them directly. Full details are available on the Resource Lists: Information for Students webpage.
Subject Guides from other disciplines can be a useful source of ideas and information. Some focus on a topic such as newspapers as well as others that are more subject specific e.g. Business, Medicine economics etc. A full list of subject guides is available on the university website. You can also contact the Academic Support Librarian for different subject areas if you would like more support or to discuss the content of these guides.
Beginner's guide
This is a short video introducing you to the University Library and it's resources, services and facilities.
- Beginner's guide to the Library - original videoFollow this link to see original video on MediaHopper, with downloadable presentation slides.
Online learning
The Library provides access to many e-resources, but we also provide lots of other services and support for students on online learning programmes.
