Skip to main content
The University of Edinburgh home
Show/hide site search
Information Services

Newspapers, magazines and other news sources

TV and other news sources

The databases on this page will allow you to search for and view TV news, newsreels, films, documentaries, radio programmes, etc. In some cases they will also provide transcripts and subtitles.

These databases don't have as many advanced search features as the newspaper and magazine databases, searching can be a bit more basic.

Box of Broadcasts (BoB)

BoB is an on demand TV and radio service for education. It allows you to search an archive of over 2 million broadcasts, recorded programmes from over 65 free-to-air channels, and create your own playlists, clips, etc. Content includes BBC One, BBC Two, BBC Four, ITV, Channel 4, BBC News, CNN, Sky News, etc.

To sign in search for and choose, University of Edinburgh. The first time you sign in you will be asked to provide your university email address. Access is restricted to UK mainland only. Use of VPN might help you get around this.


Academic Video Online

Academic Video Online is a multidisciplinary collection of videos that touches on a wide range of subject areas. With tens of thousands of titles available now and 400 new titles per month, this collection is unmatched in its breadth. Includes historical newsreels from producers such as Universal Pictures and United Newsreels. Also includes news programmes from CNN, CBS, Bloomberg, etc.


News on Screen (from BUFVC)

A resource for the study of news reels and cinemagazines (1910-1983) complete with Pathe film clips where they exist.

Some resources on BUFVC require sign in - click sign in, enter "University of Edinburgh" in the search box and if prompted sign in with your EASE username and password.


TV Rain Video Archive 

TV Rain is Russia’s only independent television channel. The TV Rain Video Archive holds thousands of TV programmes, reports and interviews about today’s Russia. 

For off-campus access you must use VPN.


 

BFI Player

BFI Player  offers a unique window on Britain’s changing political, economic and social landscape in the age of film and television. It includes 11,000 archive films from the BFI, national and regional archives.

Access is only available to "Free" content. Subscription content is available but currently this is only available to individuals. 


So much news is now available through news websites, including videos and sometimes archive material. Here is just a small selection of freely available sites (in some cases access may depend on the country you are in):