Subject guides: Global Health Policy: Home

Welcome to the Global Health Policy subject guide - your guide to using the library resources, services and facilities for your subject.

Finding Library Resources - DiscoverEd

DiscoverEd

DiscoverEd is the library's discovery tool and library catalogue. Use it to search for books, journals, articles, databases, online access and much more. You can find a simple guide we've made for getting started with DiscoverEd here (Microsoft Sway).

Other useful help pages from our website include:

Don't forget that you can ask the Library Helpdesk staff for advice and assistance.

Search for literature on global health policy

Global Health (CABI)
Covers human health and disease, including communicable diseases, tropical diseases, parasitic diseases and parasitology, nutrition, community and public health, and medicinal and poisonous plants., from more than 16,000 journals as well as books and grey literature from more than 130 countries.
more...less...
Literature covers 1910 to present.
IBSS (International Bibliography of Social Science)
IBSS includes over 2.5 million bibliographic references to journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 book and chapter records are included each year. Abstracts are provided for around 80% of all current journal articles and users can link to the full text of articles in journals subscribed to by the University of Edinburgh.
more...less...
Produced by the British Library of Political and Economic Science, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) is an essential online resource for social science and interdisciplinary research focusing on the four core social science subjects of anthropology, economics, politics, and sociology.
MEDLINE
US National Library of Medicine database, covering worldwide medical literature. Covers 3,200 journals published in the USA and about 70 other countries.
more...less...
Literature covers 1966 to date.

MEDLINE, PubMed, and PMC (PubMed Central): How are they different?
(https://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/factsheets/dif_med_pub.html)
Scopus
Abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. Covers over 20,000 journals from health, life, physical and social sciences and the humanities.
more...less...
If you would like to register to receive personalised searches, alerts etc then select "Other Institution login", then add "Edinburgh" to the search box to find the University of Edinburgh log in link, select the Shibboleth option if requested.
Web of Science Core Collection
Citations and abstracts to millions of journal articles and conference proceedings from all subjects. Impact factors, h-indexes and email alerts available.
more...less...
Citation Indexes: Science and Social Sciences (both 1900 onwards), Arts & Humanities (1975 onwards), Conference Proceedings in Science and Social Science & Humanities (both 1990 onwards), Books in Science and Social Sciences & Humanities (both 2005 onwards). KCI-Korean Journal Database (1980 onwards), SciELO Citation Index (1997 onwards).

Chemical Indexes: Current Chemical Reactions (1986 onwards), Institut National de la Propriete Industrielle structure data (1840 onwards), Index Chemicus (1993 onwards).

More databases for Global Health Policy

Your Academic Support Librarians

Caroline Stirling & Anna Richards

Email Me

Resource lists and Subject guides

Resources lists at Edinburgh Logo

Resource Lists are online reading lists that can signpost you to key reading materials. Some of your courses may have a Resource List embedded in the Virtual Learning Environment (VLE) but you can also access them directly. Full details are available on the Resource Lists: Information for Students webpage.

Other subject guides can be a useful source of ideas and information.