Canadian Studies
Welcome to the Canadian Studies subject guide - your guide to using the library resources, services and facilities for your subject.
Finding Library Resources - DiscoverEd
DiscoverEd is the one of the main ways to find the resources that are available to you. Your University Login gives you access to DiscoverEd where you can explore many of the online and physical resources, as well as the special repositories within the university collection.
Not everything within the University collection can be identified using DiscoverEd and you may also need to use specific databases to find additional material.
Need help searching DiscoverEd? Have a look at the help pages and FAQs.
Some key databases for Canadian Studies
- America: History and LifeBibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada. The database comprises almost 400,000 bibliographic entries and covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide, providing an incomparable research tool for students and researchers of US and Canadian history.
- Bibliography of British and Irish HistoryThe Bibliography of British and Irish History provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present. It is the successor to the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History, available online from 2002 to 2009.
- Migration to New Worlds, module 1: The Century of ImmigrationMigration to New Worlds explores the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia. From government-led population drives during the early nineteenth century through to mass steamship travel, it showcases unique primary source material recounting the many and varied personal experiences of migration.
- PAIS IndexThis resource covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.
Your Academic Support Librarians
Resource lists and Subject guides
Resource Lists are online reading lists that can signpost you to key reading materials. Some of your courses may have a Resource List embedded in the Virtual Learning Environment (VLE) but you can also access them directly. Full details are available on the Resource Lists: Information for Students webpage.
Other subject guides can be a useful source of ideas and information. 
This is a short video introducing you to the University Library and it's resources, services and facilities.
- Beginner's guide to the Library - original videoFollow this link to see original video on MediaHopper, with downloadable presentation slides.
Online learning
The Library provides access to many e-resources, but we also provide lots of other services and support for students on online learning programmes.
- Library services for online learning students
- How to set up and use the Virtual Private Network (VPN)