Disability Studies
Welcome to the Disability Studies Subject Guide - giving you information on library resources and services.
Disability Studies Books
Critical Readings in Interdisciplinary Disability Studies by ISBN: 9783030353070Publication Date: 2020-03-14
Deaf and Disability Studies : Interdisciplinary Perspectives by Publication Date: 2010
Vital Questions Facing Disability Studies in Education by ISBN: 0820478342Publication Date: 2007-02-09
Main Library
The Main Library entrance on George Square
The Main Library holds the majority of books for Disability Studies. Most of the books in the Main Library are on the 2nd floor or in the HUB (High Use Book) Collection on the ground floor.
The most common shelfmark for Disability Studies starts with:
| HV | Social Pathology, Social and Public Welfare etc |
Remember the Library has access to thousands of e-books which you can access via DiscoverEd.
- Main Library - orientation guide
This guide will help you to find the Main Library, and to navigate its services and collections.
Finding Library Resources - DiscoverEd
Use DiscoverEd to find books, ebooks, journals, ejournals and more. Sign into your Library account using your University Login to manage your loans and requests.
Disability Studies Databases
- Disability in the Modern World: History of a Social Movement This link opens in a new windowOne person in seven experiences disability, yet the story of this community and its contributions is largely absent from the scholarly record. This database contains a comprehensive and international set of primary and secondary sources to enrich the research of disability in a wide range of disciplines from media studies to philosophy.
Disability Studies Journals
Disability Studies Online Resources
- British Library: Oral histories of disability and personal and mental health
The British Library oral history collections chart the experiences of those with disabilities, ill-health and mental health issues. This website is currently not available following the cyber attack on the British Library. - The Disability History Museum
The Disability History Museum hosts a Library of virtual artifacts, education curricula, and museum exhibits designed to foster research and study about the historical experiences of people with disabilities and their communities. - Nineteenth-Century Disability: Cultures and Contexts
An interdisciplinary collection of primary texts and images on physical and cognitive disability in the long nineteenth century (c. 1780 to 1914).
Disability Studies Bibliographies
Resource Lists and Subject Guides
Resource Lists are online reading lists that can signpost you to key reading materials. Some of your courses may have a Resource List embedded in the Virtual Learning Environment (VLE) but you can also access them directly. Full details are available on the Resource Lists: Information for Students webpage.
Subject Guides from other disciplines can be a useful source of ideas and information. Some focus on a topic such as newspapers as well as others that are more subject specific e.g. Business, Medicine economics etc. A full list of subject guides is available on the university website. You can also contact the Academic Support Librarian for different subject areas if you would like more support or to discuss the content of these guides.
Feedback and Contact us
We'd love to hear any suggestions you have for this or any of our other EDI focused content. If you know of books, articles, videos or podcasts you think we should add to our guides, let us know! You can contribute to our Padlet here.
If you'd like to speak to us directly about anything mentioned in this toolkit or you'd like to be involved in helping us review or test future resources before they go live, you can find the Academic Support Librarian for your subject area via the links on this page:
Alternatively you can email our team using the following link which will direct your call to our Unidesk mailbox. One of our colleagues from the EDI working group will pick up the call from there and get back to you:
