French and Francophone Studies
This guide provides a general introduction to Library resources relating to French and Francophone Studies.
Library books on study & research skills
- Academic writing : a handbook for international students byCall Number: Online accessISBN: 9781351690577 (ebook)Publication Date: 2018 (5th edition)
- Companion to Comparative Literature, World Literatures, and Comparative Cultural Studies byCall Number: Online accessISBN: 9789382993803Publication Date: 2014
- The complete guide to referencing and avoiding plagiarism byCall Number: Moray House Library - (SHORT LOAN) PN167 Nev.ISBN: 9780335262021Publication Date: 2016 (3rd edition)
- Critical reading and writing for postgraduates byCall Number: Moray House Library - (RESERVE) LB2395.3 Wal.Publication Date: 2016 (3rd edition)
- Critical thinking skills : effective analysis, argument and reflection byCall Number: Online accessISBN: 9780230285293 (ebook)Publication Date: 2011 (2nd edition)
- Doing a literature review : releasing the research imagination byCall Number: Main Library (STANDARD LOAN) - 2nd floor H62 Har.ISBN: 9781526419217Publication Date: 2018
- How to design, write, and present a successful dissertation proposal byCall Number: Online accessISBN: 9781506374710Publication Date: 2013
- Information skills : finding and using the right resources by Skills for finding information are essential for academic study and beyond. This illustrated guide provides practical advice on how to source and use the right resources. It includes guidance on how to carry out a literature review as well as the skills needed for finding and evaluating information.Call Number: Main Library (STANDARD LOAN) - 3rd floor ZA3075 Gri.ISBN: 9780230222502Publication Date: 2010
- Internet research methods byCall Number: Online accessISBN: 9781473920804 (ebook)Publication Date: 2016 (2nd edition)
- An introduction to literary studies byCall Number: Online accessISBN: 1135084785Publication Date: 2013
- Literature and the Internet : a guide for students, teachers, and scholars byCall Number: Main Library (STANDARD LOAN) - 3rd floor PN73 Bro.ISBN: 9780815334538Publication Date: 2000
- The literature review : six steps to success byCall Number: Murray Library, King's Buildings (STANDARD LOAN) LB1047.3 Mac.ISBN: 9781506336244 (pbk)Publication Date: 2016
- The Oxford guide to library research byCall Number: Online accessISBN: 0199394466Publication Date: 2015
- The poetry toolkit : the essential guide to studying poetry byCall Number: New College Library@ 40 George Square (STANDARD LOAN) PR504.5 Wil.ISBN: 9781350032217Publication Date: 2019
- The postgraduate research handbook : succeed with your MA, MPhil, EdD and PhD byCall Number: Main Library (STANDARD LOAN) - 2nd floor LB2371 Wis.ISBN: 9780230521308Publication Date: 2008 (2nd edition)
- Studying at a distance : a guide for students byCall Number: Online accessISBN: 9780335238057 (e-book)Publication Date: 2010 (3rd edition)
- Study skills for international postgraduates byCall Number: Main Library (STANDARD LOAN) - 2nd floor LB2395 Dav.ISBN: 9781403995803Publication Date: 2011
- The study skills handbook byCall Number: Main Library (STANDARD LOAN) - 2nd floor LB2395 Cot.ISBN: 9781137289254Publication Date: 2013 (4th edition)
- Taking control of writing your thesis : a guide to get you to the end byCall Number: Main Library (STANDARD LOAN) - 2nd floor LB2369 Guc.ISBN: 9781474282949Publication Date: 2017
- Techniques of Close Reading byCall Number: Online accessISBN: 9781071802595 (ebook)Publication Date: 2019 (2nd edition)
- Understanding the research process byCall Number: Online accessISBN: 9781446279373 (ebook)Publication Date: 2010
- Writing a Graduate Thesis or Dissertation byCall Number: Online accessISBN: 9789463004268 (ebook)Publication Date: 2016
- Writing your doctoral dissertation or thesis faster : a proven map to success byCall Number: Online accessISBN: 9781506374727 (ebook)Publication Date: 2014
- Writing your master's thesis : from A to Zen byCall Number: Moray House Library - (SHORT LOAN) LB2369 Nyg.ISBN: 9781473903937 (pbk.)Publication Date: 2017
- Writing your thesis byCall Number: Online accessISBN: 9781446294994 (ebook)Publication Date: 2014 (3rd edition)
Exam Papers
Exam Papers Online provides access to the collected degree examination papers of the University from 2004 onwards. They may be used by students as a study aid only.
The Library Subject Guide for Exams and Revision provides advice on how to get the most out of the Library and other University support for revising for and taking exams:
Study Hub - study skills resources
The IAD's Study Hub is a fantastic resource for taught students on academic and study skills. It covers advice on specific study skills topics, plus downloadable resources with useful study strategies. Skills and topics covered include:
- Critical thinking
- Reading at university
- Time management
- Effective studying
- Making notes in class
- Presentations and posters
- Developing your English
- Academic standards
- Literature Review
- Dissertation
IAD and Digital Skills
Information literacy sessions, such as searching research literature, reference management, etc., are also run through IS Digital Skills and Training and the Institute for Academic Development (IAD).
The Digital Skills and Training team help to develop the digital and information literacy, desktop and IT productivity skills of University staff and students. Their wide range of free courses and workshops are available to all staff and students at the University.
The IAD provide a wide range of free courses and workshops concentrating on academic and study skills. There are courses for all levels of students (undergraduates, taught postgraduates and PhD students) and they have a combination of on-campus and online courses and workshops.
Exam Papers
Exam Papers Online provides access to the collected degree examination papers of the University from 2004 onwards. They may be used by students as a study aid only.
The Library Subject Guide for Exams and Revision provides advice on how to get the most out of the Library and other University support for revising for and taking exams: