This guide provides a general introduction to Library resources relating to French and Francophone Studies.
The Library subject guide for newspapers, magazines and other news sources provides an overview of the wide range of current and historic news material via Library subscription-based databases and gives most helpful advice on how to browse and search news sources. The "Databases by Subject for newspapers and magazines" provides quick access to such databases.
The selected lists of news sources in French in the sections below are available via Factiva and Nexis UK databases. Please note:
Le Monde is a major French daily newspaper offering French and international news on politics, the economy, culture and the environment. Published since 1944, it is an influential newspaper that has consistently been one of the most broadly distributed French newspapers in France and globally.
Le Monde Diplomatiquem, which is a different publication from Le Monde, is available via Nexis UK in the text format. It was first published in 1954. It offers analysis of international issues and alternative points of view. The following editions are also available:
Le Monde Historical Archive (1944-2000) is an essential resource for studies on the history and culture of France, as well as many of the most defining events of Europe’s recent past. With cover-to-cover full-page images, article-level indexing and searchable text, users can retrieve all types of content from the Le Monde archive, including news articles, photos, advertisements, obituaries, cartoons and more.
Le Monde (2001 to today) is available in the original printed newspaper format with full-page images from the French media database Europresse. To browse Le Monde, go to Publications PDF and select Le Monde (among 86 French newspapers).
The National Library of Scotland has a subscription to the print copy of Le Monde newspaper:
Newspapers and other news sources originated in France and Belgium, and news in French published in these countries and elsewhere around the world can be accessed in the full-text format (instead of newspaper images), via the following two databases :
Access to over 23,000 UK and international news and business sources, financial and market reports, biographical data and thousands of legal and regulatory services. Includes a large range of UK and overseas newspapers, both broadsheet and tabloid, national and regional. As well as some news websites and news agencies. Includes Company Dossier which delivers company information on 100 million international companies and executives.
Nexis UK contains over 330 news sources in France. They are searchable by article title, headlines, or key words in full text. You can also browse news sources by news type, by region or by language.
Factiva provides access to the full texts of more than 35,000 authoritative new sources from around the world, including 305 news sources in the French language published in France, Belgium and other French speaking countries and regions. Factiva also includes most UK national and regional press and trade magazines. Content by freelance writers, some features and supplements may not be available.
(UoE login required. 976 sources - data retrieved on 22 Oct. 2020)
Please note: Le Monde via Factiva is NOT available to academic community. Le Monde Diplomatique is available Nexis UK mentioned above.
Additional Information: User Guide
Europresse provides access to the full-page images of 86 French newspapers. You can search across all these newspapers plus over 60,000 other media sources such as journals, magazines, and blogs. To browse the French newspaper publications, go to Publications PDF. All the 86 newspapers will be displayed, include Le Monde (from 2001 onwards).
Edinburgh Libraries, run by the City of Edinburgh Council, offers an important e-resource for national and international newspapers and magazines called PressReader. It provides online access to over 7,000 worldwide newspapers and magazines including several hundred sources in French. You will need to join Edinburgh Libraries and sign in with your card number and PIN to gain access.
As of January 2022, PressReader contains 130 newspapers published in France, 166 French language newsapers published in France and elsewhere, and several hundred magazines in both categories.
