This guide provides a general introduction to Library and information resources for the study of literature in English.
As differentiated from our Library licensed databases, the large, curated catalogue of internet resources in the three broad subject sections below are mostly free to access. In some cases users may be required to register or create an account. Every effort has been made by the Academic Support Librarian to ensure that the website content is suitable for academic study, but it is the user's own responsibility to check the authority, currency and accuracy of content.
Introduces women writers of African and African-Caribbean descent living in Britain, the criticism their work has generated, and relevant past and future activities, in particular academic events centred on the promotion and exploration of Black British Women’s Writing as a field. Over 400 bibliographical references.
The Carlyle Letters Online includes over 12,000 letter written by Thomas and Jane Welsh Carlyle from 1812 to 1859, including correspondence with more than 600 recipients, such as Rober Browning, George Eliot, Ralph Waldo Emerson, John Stuart Mill and Charles Dickens. Coverage 1812-1859.
The Yale Edition of the Works of Samuel Johnson was founded in 1955 to replace the Oxford Edition of 1825 and make accurate texts of Johnson's complete works widely available. Works include Johnson's debates, poetry, sermons, literary criticism, essays and other genre.
Including Nineteenth-Century Periodicals and Primary Sources
Including The Chapman and Myllar Prints held at the National Library of Scotland
Cornell University's collection of monographs on a range of topics
The John Milton Reading Room: the complete poetry and selected prose of John Milton, with introductions, research guides, and hyperlinked annotations. Thomas H. Luxon, General Editor © Trustees of Dartmouth College, 1997-2020.
Facsimiles of books held in University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries. This online collection, originally published in venues as disparate as Philadelphia and Leipzig, includes images produced by an array of technologies available in the 19th and early 20th centuries.
See also the History of the Book section of this subject guide.
Virtual Training Suite is a set of free Internet tutorials to help you develop Internet research skills for your university course. All of the tutorials are written and reviewed by a national team of lecturers and librarians from universities across the UK.
Internet for English is a free online tutorial to help university students develop their Internet research skills.
You can use Google Scholar to search for academic resources including journal articles, peer-reviewed papers, books and theses.
Further:
RefSeek (https://www.refseek.com/) is a web and document search engine for students and researchers that aims to make academic information easily accessible to everyone. RefSeek searches more than five billion documents, including web pages, books, encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, journals, and newspapers. You can also find a lot of English Literature related resources there.
