English Literature

A landmark reinvention of Shakespeare’s Hamlet with Maxine Peake in the title role.

Modern recordings help you bring Shakespeare to life in the classroom. The Royal Shakespeare Company Collectionoffers high-definition recordings of The Bard’s dramatic canon, featuring the world’s best Shakespearean actors and directors, along with supplemental teaching materials to help students engage more deeply with the material and enhance the overall learning experience.

26 films of live productions from the Royal Shakespeare Company from 2013 to the cutting-edge 2016-17 production of The Tempest starring Simon Russell-Beale

21 plays recorded live on the Globe stage from leading actors including Mark Rylance, Stephen Fry, and Roger Allam’s Olivier Award-winning Falstaff in Henry IV. Inspired and informed by the unique historic playing conditions of two beautiful iconic theatres, Shakespeare’s Globe’s diverse programme of work harnesses the power of performance, cultivates intellectual curiosity, and excites learning to make Shakespeare accessible for all.

9 landmark productions from the theatre’s most recent seasons, including two productions from Emma Rice’s tenure as Artistic Director and the first production from the indoor Jacobean theatre, the Sam Wanamaker Playhouse. These films showcase the Globe’s two unique playing spaces on Bankside and how different artists respond to them. Each performance transports viewers directly into the standing yard of the world famous Globe or the magical candlelit interior of the captivating new Sam Wanamaker Playhouse.

76 videos for UoE login; 37 videos for Guest access

The complete Arkangel Shakespeare contains fully dramatized unabridged recordings of all of Shakespeare’s 38 plays. Each play is recorded by noted actors, many of whom were trained at the Royal Shakespeare Company, such as Simon Russell Beale, Joseph Fiennes, David Tennant, Niamh Cusack and Sir John Gielgud and includes sound effects and music to bring the plays further to life.

From the William Shakespeare Author's page the audio plays can be easily reached from the related special section Related Audio.

From the Publications section you can select the Audio and Video Works under the Source Type narrow Filter on the left, then you select the third type, Shakespeare Audio. Under the 2003 issue year you'll obtain the alphabetical list by title.

Clicking on the title of a play will bring you to the individual audio play’s page from which you will be able to view and select individual scenes to access. Though the audio recordings were not created using any of the editions available in Full Text, the 19th Century Cambridge University Press edition is the closest textually to the modern edition used.

"In 1978, the BBC set itself the task of filming all of William Shakespeare's plays for television. The series - beginning with Romeo and Juliet and concluding, nearly seven years later, with Titus Andronicus - featured adaptations of all 36 First Folio plays, plus Pericles, Prince of Tyre."--Container.

Main Library Main Library (STANDARD LOAN) - 3rd floor PR2755 Sha.

DVD 1-37 + 1 Booklet.

A collection of over 300 items including videos and supporting educational resources on Shakespeare.

A six hour acting masterclass with international coach Patsy Rodenburg, starring Joseph Fiennes
Stage on Screen: Critically acclaimed stage productions of four key set drama and literature texts: The Duchess of Malfi, Doctor Faustus, The School for Scandal, and Volpone.

Including 9 plays: Hamlet (2010), Othello (2013), King Lear (2011), Macbeth (2018), Julius Caesar (2018), Coriolanus (2014), Twelfth Night (2017), The Winter's Tale (2018) and Romeo and Juliet (2017)

15 videos from Academic Video Online.

A 90 minute masterclass from Steven Berkoff, world-renowned writer, director, and actor.

In Advanced Search, keyword search for Shakespeare and then select "Audio Visual" for material type. The retrieved list contains DVDs, streaming performances, music, songs, audio

In Advanced Search, subject search for Shakespeare, select "Books" for material type, and then filter search results for "Shakespeare" for subject and show only "Full Text Online".

In Advanced Search, subject search for Shakespeare and select "Journals" for material type. The list includes both print and e-journals.

In Advanced Search, author/creator search for Shakespeare, select "Books" for material type. The list contains both print and e-books.

In Advanced Search, subject search (exact) for "Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 -- Criticism and interpretation", and select "All items" for material type.

The Cambridge Guide to the Worlds of Shakespeare aims to replicate the expansive reach of Shakespeare's global reputation. In pursuit of that vision, this work is transhistorical, international and interdisciplinary. Volume 1, Shakespeare's World, 1500–1660, includes a comprehensive survey of the world in which Shakespeare and his contemporaries lived, while Volume 2, The World's Shakespeare, 1660–Present, examines what the world has made of Shakespeare as a cultural icon over the past four centuries. For each of the work's twenty-eight broad subject areas, ranging from translation to popular culture to performing arts, an overview is followed by a series of shorter essays taking up particular aspects of the subject at hand. Richly illustrated with more than three hundred images between the two volumes, this work brings the world, life and afterlife of Shakespeare to readers, from non-academic Shakespeare fans and students to theater professionals and Shakespeare scholars.

For the first time in history, you will be able to compare them, side by side, from the comfort of your own home. As well as the stories told through the plays themselves, each copy offers up another narrative, depicting their unique journeys through history. Some are in prime condition, while others have received annotations, tears, or even lost pages. Many also bear printed differences – changes made by the printers as they produced each copy.

This online collection, originally published in venues as disparate as Philadelphia and Leipzig, includes images produced by an array of technologies available in the 19th and early 20th centuries.

The New Oxford Shakespeare presents an entirely new consideration of all of Shakespeare's works, edited from first principles from the base-texts themselves, and drawing on the latest textual and theatrical scholarship. The printed version (2017) consists of 4 volumes: the Modern Critical Edition, the Critical Reference Edition (1 & 2) and the Authorship Companion.

It details the way in which the theatre was constructed as a place of radical experiment. It documents over 200 performances through prompt books, wardrobe notes, programmes, publicity material, annual reports, show reports, photographs and architectural plans.

The Shakespeare Collection contextualizes the legacy of this great poet and playwright, containing a selection of over 200 prompt books (annotated working texts of stage managers and company prompters) from the 17th to 20th centuries, the extensive diaries of Shakespeare enthusiast Gordon Crosse documenting 500 UK performances from 1890 to 1953, the First Folio and Quartos, editions and adaptations of Shakespeare’s works from the 17th, 18th and 19th centuries, more than 80 works Shakespeare is thought to have been familiar with, as well as works composed by Shakespeare's contemporaries. Containing 225 monographs and 764 manuscripts. Date range: 1517-1975.

Our access doesn't include "New Oxford Shakespeare Critical Reference Edition" or "New Oxford Shakespeare Modern Critical Edition" which are also on the database platform. These two sets are available in print - see separate entry "The New Oxford Shakespeare: complete set" in this section.