Skip to main content
The University of Edinburgh home
Show/hide site search
Information Services

Education and Teacher Training

Using DiscoverEd to find scholarly literature

 
As well as searching the Library's physical and local collections i.e. books, e-books, journals, etc., DiscoverEd is also searching a wide range of the e-journals and databases the Library has access to so it's easy to find scholarly literature. DiscoverEd is always a good place to start your searching.

Finding scholarly literature

We have organised our collections of digital resources and databases by subject areas, and alphabetically. Use these databases to search for scholarly literature e.g. journal articles, book chapters & reviews, conference reports and proceedings, etc., for your subject area.


Education theses

University of Edinburgh theses awarded in Education are online in the University's research repository, Edinburgh Research Archive (ERA). They are Open Access (except where commercial and other restrictions apply).

Moray House School of Education These and Dissertations on ERA

Centre for Research Collections (CRC)

The CRC is the main space for anyone using the University of Edinburgh's cultural and heritage collections, comprising

  • Rare books & manuscripts
  • Archives (UoE & external)
  • University’s art & historical musical instrument collections
  • Lothian Health Service Archive
  • Collection images
  • Theses - also available in ERA (Edinburgh Research Archive)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The CRC offers a range of research services and resources and regularly organises impressive displays of its historic artefacts.

Centre for Research Collections

E-resources trials

The Library regularly arranges trials to new resources, including databases. It's always worthwhile checking the list of current trials as there could be something available for a short period that is just what you are looking for. 

Grey Literature

Google Scholar

You can use Google Scholar to search for academic resources including journal articles, peer-reviewed papers, books and theses.