Skip to main content
The University of Edinburgh home
Show/hide site search
Information Services

Social Policy

Welcome to the Social Policy subject guide - your guide to using the library resources, services and facilities for your subject.

Finding scholarly literature

We have organised our collections of digital resources and databases by subject areas, and alphabetically. Use these databases to search for scholarly literature e.g. journal articles, book chapters & reviews, conference reports and proceedings, etc., for your subject area.


Theses and dissertations

We have various databases dedicated to searching for theses and dissertations.

Grey Literature

Official publications

Exam Papers

Exam Papers Online provides access to the collected degree examination papers of the University from 2004 onwards. They may be used by students as a study aid only.

Newspapers and news media

Use these key databases to search for and access current full-text newspaper and news sources articles, including both UK and international titles.

The Library has access to a large number of newspaper databases that allow you to search for both current and archive content.

Research and Statistical Data

UK Data Service

The UK Data Service is a comprehensive resource funded by the ESRC and delivered by the UK Data Service to support researchers, teachers and policymakers who depend on high-quality social and economic data.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)

The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), is an international consortium of academic institutions and research organizations.  ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioural sciences. It hosts collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

China Macro Economy Statistics

More data listings at the Research Data Service

Using DiscoverEd to find scholarly literature

 
As well as searching the Library's physical and local collections i.e. books, e-books, journals, etc., DiscoverEd is also searching a wide range of the e-journals and databases the Library has access to so it's easy to find scholarly literature. DiscoverEd is always a good place to start your searching.

E-resources trials

The Library regularly arranges trials to new resources, including databases. It's always worthwhile checking the list of current trials as there could be something available for a short period that is just what you are looking for.