Skip to Main Content
The University of Edinburgh home
Show/hide site search
Information Services

African Studies

Welcome to the African Studies subject guide - your guide to using the library resources, services and facilities for your subject.

Finding scholarly literature

We have organised our collections of digital resources and databases by subject areas, and alphabetically. Use these databases to search for scholarly literature e.g. journal articles, book chapters & reviews, conference reports and proceedings, etc., for your subject area.


Using DiscoverEd to find scholarly literature

 

As well as searching the Library's physical and local collections i.e. books, e-books, journals, etc., DiscoverEd is also searching a wide range of the e-journals and databases the Library has access to so it's easy to find scholarly literature. DiscoverEd is always a good place to start your searching.

Using Google Scholar to find scholarly literature

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Like DiscoverEd, Google Scholar can be a good place to start your search but it does not allow for advanced or complex searching as in the databases.

Google Scholar may not provide access to full-text, however, by linking to the Library you can access full-text where there is a University subscription.

  1. Select Settings from the top of the Google Scholar Home Page
  2. Select Library Links
  3. Search for University of Edinburgh. Select it from the list and Save your settings

You will now see FindIt@Edinburgh links next to items in your Google Scholar results that you can use to access the full-text.

This short video below demonstrates how to do this.

Newspapers and news media, TV and film

Use these key databases to search for and access current full-text newspaper and news sources articles, including both UK and international titles.

The Library has access to a large number of newspaper databases that allow you to search for both current and archive content.


Use these databases to search for and view TV news programmes, documentaries, interviews, films, etc.



If you're going to be using "news" sources as part of your research then it is worth taking a look at our guide on misinformation, disinformation and "fake news" which gives an overview of this area and strategies to help you meet this issue.

Historical research

Use these databases to search for and access a wide range of historical documents relevant to learning, teaching and research in African history e.g. government documents, newspapers, pamphlets, legal documents, organisation and personal papers,etc.