TESOL
This guide to Library and information resources for TESOL has been compiled by the Academic Support Librarian for Moray House School of Education & Sport.
Finding Library Resources - DiscoverEd
Use DiscoverEd to find books, ebooks, journals, ejournals and more. Sign into your Library account using your University Login to manage your loans and requests.
Some Key Databases for TESOL
- Linguistic & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)Abstracts 2000 journals worldwide with coverage of books, papers. technical reports, dissertations, book reviews from 1973 onwards.
- MLA International BibliographyCitations to critical documents on literature, language, linguistics and folklore from over 4,400 journals and series and over 1000 book publishers. Also covers monographs, reference works and collections, including working papers, conference papers and proceedings.
- TESOL Encyclopedia of English Language TeachingOver 750 entries written by leading practitioners and scholars from around the world. The Encyclopedia is arranged thematically and entries are ordered A-Z within each of these themes.
- Education Source UltimateEducation Source Ultimate is the world's largest and most comprehensive full-text research database designed for education students, researchers, professionals and policymakers. Coverage spans all levels of education and includes a range of topics including education ethics, educational technology, literacy, research methodology and more.
Moray House Library
Moray House Library holds an extensive collection of books and journals mainly on the subject of Education, with specialities including Language Education and Teaching English as a Second Language.
- Moray House Library - orientation guideThis guide will help you to find Moray House Library, and to navigate its services and collections.
Using Google Scholar to find scholarly literature
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Like DiscoverEd, Google Scholar can be a good place to start your search but it does not allow for advanced or complex searching as in the databases.
Google Scholar may not provide access to full-text, however, by linking to the Library you can access full-text where there is a University subscription.
- Select Settings from the top of the Google Scholar Home Page
- Select Library Links
- Search for University of Edinburgh. Select it from the list and Save your settings
You will now see FindIt@Edinburgh links next to items in your Google Scholar results that you can use to access the full-text.
This short video below demonstrates how to do this.
Your Academic Support Librarian
Resource Lists & Subject Guides
Resource Lists are online reading lists that can signpost you to key reading materials. Some of your courses may have a Resource List embedded in the Virtual Learning Environment (VLE) but you can also access them directly. Full details are available on the Resource Lists: Information for Students webpage.
Other subject guides can be a useful source of ideas and information. 
