Scandinavian Studies
This guide provides a general introduction to Library and information resources for the study of Search tools, websites and gateways for Scandinavian studies.
Collections
Main collections
The Main Library holds the physical collections for Scandinavian Studies.
Scandinavian Studies books classified in the Library of Congress (LC) scheme are located on Floor 3 (shelfmark P-Z) under the classification PD. This is the subclass that covers Germanic and Scandinavia languages. Danish is PD3501–PD3929, Norwegian is PD4001–PD4999, Swedish is PD5201-PD5499, and Icelandic is PD2701–PD2999.
Older books that are classified in the Dewey decimal scheme are located in the University Collection Facility.
Bound, printed journals are located on Floor 4. Back runs of some journals are stored in the University Collections Facility (UCF). Information on how to request material from UCF can be found in the list of useful links below.
Reference works (such as dictionaries, encyclopaedias and bibliographies) and DVDs are classified in the LC scheme and interfiled with the general LC lending stock on the Floor 2 and Floor 3.
Manuscripts, rare books and archives are held in the Centre for Research Collections (CRC) on Floor 6. See information about CRC below.
Printed exam papers up to academic year 2004/2005 are stored in the University Collections Facility and can be requested from there. Exam Papers Online provides access to the collected degree examinations papers of the University from 2004/2005 onwards.
Other useful links:
- Main Library
- Main Library opening hours
- Main Library Self-Guide Tour
- Main Library Virtual Orientation
- Main Library Video Tour
- Brief guide to Locations of collections in Main Library
- University Collections Facility (UCF)
- How to request material from UCF
HUB Collection
The High Use Books (HUB) collection, located on the ground floor of the Main Library, consists of HUB Reserve (3-hour loan) and HUB Short Loan (7 day loan) books as well as offprints (photo copies of course reading material).
Undergraduate course books on Reserve and Short Loan are located in this collection.
Heritage Collections
The Centre for Research Collections (CRC) houses the University Library’s Heritage Collections which include historical books, manuscripts, archives and other collection items. The main CRC facilities are on Floor 6 of the Main Library.
Sigfus Blondal Collection: Located in the Centre for Research Collections (CRC), this is a collection of about 3,000 books, journals and pamphlets on Icelandic and Scandinavian studies.
Most material appears in the online catalogue. To browse the catalogue for items in this collection, select the Simple Search option and do the search by shelfmark. The sequence of shelfmarks for this collection ranges from LL.100.2.2 to LL.108.7.9.
