Subject guides: Psychology: Home

This guide to Library and information resources for Psychology has been compiled by the Academic Support Librarian for the School of Philosophy, Psychology & Language Sciences.

Library Services Update

This Library Services page will be kept up to date with information about access to the library collections, online access to teaching resources and how to get further help.

Library Services Update

Psychology & Philosophy Library

Psychology & Philosophy Library

A dedicated library for the School of PPLS at 7 George Square.

The Library is open from 9am to 5pm on weekdays only during semester.
The Library is open to all when the library is staffed but open only to PPLS staff, postgraduates and years 3 and 4 undergraduates when it is not staffed via swipe access. Ask the PPLS Librarian on your first visit for further information.
All University readers may borrow books.
For readers who cannot attend the library in person the University Library offers a Scan and Deliver Service.
Psychology & Philosophy Library - Online Orientation Guide (Sway).

Further details are available on the PPLS Librarian's web page OR students can email Karen Fleet (PPLS Librarian) direct at: K.Fleet@ed.ac.uk.

Resource Lists

Resource Lists
for psychology courses.

Looking for images?

Image databases
Check out our collections of still and moving images.

Keep up to date with the Library

Finding Library Resources - DiscoverEd

Use DiscoverEd to find books, ebooks, journals, ejournals and more. Sign into your Library account using your University Login to manage your loans and requests.

DiscoverEd Help FAQs

Databases for Psychology

MIT Cognet
Includes the full text of major reference works and over 250 cognitive science books, full text of journals in the field of cognitive and brain sciences, as well as a growing collection of other relevant books, journals and reference works from other participating publishers.
PsycARTICLES (incorporated into Your Journals @Ovid)
Full-text articles from 56 journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.
PsycINFO
Citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
more...less...
Journal coverage from 1806 to the present includes international material selected from more than 2,400 journals written in over 25 languages. Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material from 1987 to the present.
Additional databases for Psychology

Searchable full-text resources from Oxford University Press

Oxford Bibliographies
Authoritative research guides, featuring the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects, including psychology.
Oxford Handbooks Online: Scholarly Research Reviews
An outstanding collection of the best Handbooks in fifteen subject areas, including psychology.
Oxford Scholarship Online
A vast and rapidly-expanding online library, providing easy access to thousands of books across the world-renowned scholarly list of Oxford University Press, including 650 titles for psychology.

Additional online resources

Cogprints
An electronic archive for self-archive of papers in psychology, neuroscience, linguistics and many areas of computer science.
Psychology.org
An extensive encyclopaedia of people, publications and organizations at the forefront of psychotherapy, behavior analysis, research and education.
Psychology Dictionary
A comprehensive online psychology dictionary, with over 20,000 definitions written by a global team of academics and professionals.

Finding clinical trials

Finding clinical trials
Some web resources and subscription databases to help you track down clinical trials.

Referencing

Cite Them Right Online
Everything you need to know about citing and referencing resources in a range of referencing styles (including APA & Harvard).
Read. Write. Cite
Some useful general guidance from the Edinburgh University Students' Association (EUSA).
Scribbr
Free online Citation Tools (including Citation Generator), which can help automate the building of bibliographies in a range of referencing styles, such as APA & Harvard.
APA Style Blog
Regularly updated, this blog from the American Psychological Association (APA) provides advice on using the APA Style.
Cite this for me
A free online tool that helps automate the building of bibliographies using the Harvard, APA, MLA referencing formats.

Academic Support Librarian

Ishbel Leggat

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Argyle House,
3 Lady Lawson St, Edinburgh
EH3 9DR

+44 (0)131 651 5214

Subjects: Education, English Language, Linguistics, Philosophy, Physical Education, Psychology, Sport, Teaching, TESOL

Introduction to literature searching for your dissertation

The link below takes you to of a recording of a live session for students in the College of Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences (CAHSS) which looks at developing a search strategy, resources available from the Library to help you search the literature and how to manage your search results. Delivered as part of the Library's Dissertation Festival (March, 2021).

Dissertation Festival: Introduction to literature searching for your dissertation

Psychology Events

What's on and where
Calendar of workshops, seminars, conferences and other events taking place in Psychology.

British Psychological Society

British Psychological Society
The British Psychological Society (BPS) is the representative body for psychology and psychologists in the UK.
more...less...
The BPS is responsible for the promotion of excellence and ethical practice in the science, education, and practical applications of the discipline.

Toggle navigation menu Menu

Psychology