Skip to Main Content
The University of Edinburgh home
Show/hide site search
Information Services

Engineering

Library Services Update 2021-22

This Library Services page will be kept up to date with information about access to the library collections, online access to teaching resources and how to get further help.

Finding Library Resources

DiscoverEd - Search for print and online Library books, journals, conferences and more using DiscoverEd.  Sign in to DiscoverEd to manage your Library account

Tips on using DiscoverEd

Engineering Literature searching

Find peer-reviewed journal articles and conference proceedings in specialist engineering databases

  • Engineering Village - indexes the world's significant engineering and technology journals and conferences
  • Web of Science - the Science Citation Index provides an interdisciplinary search tool across science and engineering.

Consult the Engineering literature databases page for further resources for specialist engineering literature searching

Engineering e-books

Many engineering ebooks have interactive content including downloadable interactive graphs and tables

  • AccessEngineering -  over 250 engineering ebooks, many with interactive content. Includes Dataviz to compare materials property data
  • Knovel - over 3,500 ebooks, many with interactive content. Includes Lees, Yaw's, Ullman's and Sax's

Further engineering e-books in can be found via DiscoverEd

More information on the Library's e-books collection

Engineering standards (& Eurocodes) and regulatory documentation

The Library provides access to a wide range of standards documents

  • British Standards Online - full-text of all British Standards and BSI-adopted standards, including many ISOs and all Eurocodes.
  • ASTM Compass - full-text of all ASTM standards

Library guide to technical standards - information on how to find other standards such as IEEE standards

The Construction Information Service provides further regulatory documentation for the construction industry

Engineering Patents

Patents are often the first - and sometimes the only - place where details of a new technology are published

Citing, referencing and avoiding plagiarism

Citing and referencing demonstrates breadth of research and helps avoid plagiarism

Reference management

Use a reference management tool to manage your literature research and create a bibliography

  • Guide to Endnote X7 - EndNote desktop is on the open-access PCs and Apple Macs
  • Guide to EndNote Online - EndNote Online is available on the Web of Science platform
  • Open Source reference management tools include Mendeley and Zotero

Comparison of bibliographic management tools

Information Skills training courses

Courses run throughout the year, delivered either in a classroom or online

Noreen & Kenneth Murray Library

The Murray Library holds print collections for Engineering

Inter-Library Loans

Need a document not held by the Library?

laptop and book

Request a book purchase

Need a book added to the Library's collections?

RAB

Find a study space

Find a silent study space, book a group study room, check for computer space availability and more... 

Murray Library study space

 

Exam Papers Online

Degree examination papers of the University from 2004 onwards.