Engineering

Use DiscoverEd to find books, ebooks, journals, ejournals and more. Sign into your Library account using your University Login to manage your loans and requests.

DiscoverEd 
DiscoverEd Help FAQs

Find peer-reviewed journal articles and conference proceedings in specialist engineering databases

• Engineering Village - indexes the world's significant engineering and technology journals and conferences
• Web of Science - the Science Citation Index provides an interdisciplinary search tool across science and engineering.

Consult the Engineering literature databases page for further resources for specialist engineering literature searching

Many engineering ebooks have interactive content including downloadable interactive graphs and tables

• AccessEngineering -  over 250 engineering ebooks, many with interactive content. Includes Dataviz to compare materials property data
• Knovel - over 3,500 ebooks, many with interactive content. Includes Lees, Yaw's, Ullman's and Sax's

Further engineering e-books in can be found via DiscoverEd

More information on the Library's e-books collection

The Library provides access to a wide range of standards documents

• British Standards Online - full-text of all British Standards and BSI-adopted standards, including many ISOs and all Eurocodes.
• ASTM Compass - full-text of all ASTM standards

Library guide to technical standards - information on how to find other standards such as IEEE standards

The Construction Information Service provides further regulatory documentation for the construction industry

Patents are often the first - and sometimes the only - place where details of a new technology are published

• Derwent Innovations Index - an index to worldwide patents
• Library guide to patents literature

Citing and referencing demonstrates breadth of research and helps avoid plagiarism

• Referencing and avoiding plagiarism - a guide from the University's Institute of Academic Development
• Cite Them Right Online - an online tool to help you with referencing
• Copyright FAQs

Use a reference management tool to manage your literature research and create a bibliography

• Guide to Endnote X7 - EndNote desktop is on the open-access PCs and Apple Macs
• Guide to EndNote Online - EndNote Online is available on the Web of Science platform
• Open Source reference management tools include Mendeley and Zotero

Comparison of bibliographic management tools

Courses run throughout the year, delivered either in a classroom or online

• Institute for Academic Development (IAD) courses for academic and study skills
• Digital Skills and Training - courses for digital, information literacy and IT skills
• Lynda.com - over 5,000 online video courses in digital, technology, creative and business skills

The Murray Library holds print collections for Engineering

• Using the Library
• Guide to the Murray Library

Need a document not held by the Library?

• Request an Inter-Library Loan
• About Inter-Library Loans

Need a book added to the Library's collections?

• Request a book purchase

Find a silent study space, book a group study room, check for computer space availability and more... 

• Guide to KB study spaces
• Guide to Information Services study spaces

Degree examination papers of the University from 2004 onwards.

• Past exam papers online