This guide provides a general introduction to Library resources relating to French and Francophone Studies.
Academic journal articles are important sources of information for subject research. DiscoverEd provides search for titles of all the journals, in print and electronic, that the Library subscirbes to. It also provides direct access to the full text of thousands of e-journal articles. Methods of obtaining journal literature via DiscoverEd are illustrated below:
DiscoverEd search for French Studies journals
Go to ejournals A-Z and search by title key words such as French or France
Go to advanced search in DiscoverEd, perform subject headings search for French OR France with journals as material type (see screen capture). Click the link below to see the result list of a demo search in the Library system for the subject area:
List of journals for French Studies (a demo bibliography)
If a printed journal you need is held at the University Collections Facility, you can use the Interlibrary Loans service to get the scanning of your required article which will be delivered to you by email. This service is free for Edinburgh University members.
Information on how to request items from the University Collections Facility (UCF)
DisoverEd indexes not only journal titles but also journal articles with links to the full text content if the sources are ejournals within our subscription.
If a particular journal you need is not held in our Library system either in print or electronic, it is worth checking the UK Serials Union Catalogue to see if it is held elsewhere in the country. You can then use the Interlibrary Loans service to request journal articles from other UK libraries or even beyond.
