This guide provides a general introduction to library and information resources for all those studying, teaching and researching on topics relating to Russia. Please note the additional information on the left hand navigation.
The web link below takes you to the up-to-date information about access to the Library collections, facilities and services, and how to get further help.
Main collectionsThe following description covers the printed materials only. Information on electronic resources can be found in the Databases section.
Most books and journals for Russian Studies are held in the Main Library, George Square. Some older books are located in the University Collections Facility (UCF) from where items can be requested. All the materials are listed in DiscoverEd.
There are about 14,400 titles in the Russian language which are interfiled with the general collections according to the subject classification. The titles are searchable in DiscoverEd by Romanised transliteration. Books that are classified in the Library of Congress (LC) scheme (e.g. PG3410 Spe.) are located on the 3rd floor (shelfmarks P-Z) and 2nd floor (shelfmarks A-N).
Older books that are classified in the Dewey decimal scheme (e.g. F .891733 Tol. Che.) are shelved on the 4th floor or at the UCF. Books stored in the UCF can be requested using DiscoverEd, the University’s Library Discovery Service.
Other useful links:
The High Use Books (HUB) collection, located on the ground floor of the Main Library, consists of HUB Reserve (3 hour loan) and HUB Short Loan (7 day loan) books as well as offprints. Undergraduate course books on Reserve for Russian studies are located in this collection
Reference works such as dictionaries, encyclopaedias and bibliographies are classified in the LC scheme and interfiled with the general LC lending stock.
Manuscripts are held in the Centre for Research Collections.
Exam papers from session 1996/97 onwards are now available online.
Use DiscoverEd to search for books, journals, journal articles, DVDs and other physical and electronic items. Use your University Login to sign into your account and manage loans and requests.
Use Resource Lists to find your course reading lists. Lookup reading lists by list title, course title, course code, course instructors. Use the 'Subject' dropdown selection list to browse all the Resource Lists in your subject area such as 'English Literature' (displaying only the first 100 matching lists).
Please note that not all the courses at the University use Resource Lists.
