Clinical Psychology
Subject guide to library related topics.
Sources of help and advice on referencing
See also the Library Guide:
Cite Them Right Online
Cite Them Right Online explains and demonstrates how to cite, both in-text and in a reference list or bibliography, a wide range of material types: books, journal articles, lecture notes, law reports, web pages, computer games, live performances...
Get to Cite Them Right Online from its DiscoverEd record.
Harvard (author-date) is shown throughout but many material types are demonstrated in other citation styles too: APA, Chicago, MHRA, MLA, OSCOLA, Vancouver.
General information on referencing and plagiarism is also presented.
EndNote
EndNote
EndNoteEndNote is supported by the University and available as a desktop and web based application.
- The desktop version has the full range of features and functions.
- EndNote Online is freely available.
The desktop version is installed on the open access lab computers
Both versions provide automatic citing within Microsoft Word.
- For Word installed on the open access lab computers, the "Cite While You Write" plug-in is already available.
EndNote desktop
EndNote desktop is on the Start menu of the University's open access computers and can be downloaded onto most University machines for free from the Software Centre in the Start menu.
EndNote desktop can also be downloaded for free by staff and students of the University for use on personal devices:
Download EndNote desktop for free, onto your own device.
EndNote Styles
Citation styles not already available in EndNote may have been created since you obtained it and may be able to be downloaded from:
EndNote online
Register via Web of Science for more file saving space.
Guide to registering for EndNote online (incl. Cite While You Write plug-in)
EndNote demonstration
A good introduction to EndNote is this recording (30 minutes) made for Moray House School of Education and Sport.
The recording below, made for Clinical Psychology MSc students, includes generally useful information on eg how to find information on presenting citations in particular styles, creating cut and paste citations, exporting records from abstracting and indexing databases into reference management software. It includes a demonstration of EndNote desktop.
Citing and avoiding plagiarism
The recording (30 mins) of March 2021's Library Bitesize session How to reference and avoid plagiarism acts as a guide to sources of information and help with understanding why plagiarism must be avoided, the importance of citation styles and consistency in referencing as well as touching on quoting, paraphrasing and summarising the work the of others.
Also worth looking at are the Institute for Academic Development's guidance and factsheets on good academic practice which include information on referencing and avoiding plagiarism:
Some specific Styles
For APA Style (7th), the APA makes freely available guides and pointers online.
APA Style and Grammar Guidelines (7th ed) - freely available sections [online]
- Guides to introduce writers to APA Style or provide a brief overview of specific topics.
- Checklists to use during the writing process.
- Interactive activities to improve APA formatting or writing.
[APA Style Blog - for archived blog of 6th ed]
The Concise guide... and the full Publication manual... are available on the library shelves (print only):
Concise guide to APA style : the official APA style guide for students (7th ed) - print only
Citation styles not already available in EndNote may have been created since you obtained it and may be able to be downloaded from:
From the British Psychological Society (BPS) Style Guide for authors and editors (2018) "The author–date system (also known as the Harvard system) is the preferred method of citation. The style adopted is based on APA ... For full details refer to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association."
BPS Style Guide for authors and editors
Cite Them Right Online is useful for APA Style (and others) for specific materials:
Choosing a reference management software tool
Reference management software lets you store, annotate and group references and also automatically creates citations and reference lists in your documents.
There are a number of different reference management software tools available. For help in deciding which is right for you, please see our software comparison table from the link below:
There is also a self-enrol course on Learn which starts with reasons to use reference management software and includes learning resources for four of the most popular reference managers: Mendeley, Zotero, EndNote and Citavi. It ends with some frequently asked questions:
Reference management software tools contd
Zotero is non-commercial, open source:
www.zotero.com
ZoteroBib is a free service that helps you build a bibliography instantly from any computer or device, without creating an account or installing any software:
https://zbib.org/
Mendeley change from September 2022
Mendeley has two different applications: Mendeley Desktop and Mendeley Reference Manager.
Mendeley Desktop will not be available for download after September 2022 and new users will need to use Mendeley Reference Manager and Mendeley Cite add-in. Note that the Mendeley Cite add-in is not available with the University of Edinburgh Office365.
Help with EndNote
There is support and help available from staff on using EndNote, desktop and online.
EndNote online exercises using Health databases, eg psycINFO on Ovid
The Digital Skills and Training programme includes workshops and webinars on EndNote for which anyone can sign up and for which the workbooks are sometimes available for people to go through themselves in their own time.
Digital Skills and Training website
Links to some of the Digital Skills' workbooks
Your Academic Support Librarian is another source of advice.