Skip to Main Content
The University of Edinburgh home
Show/hide site search
Information Services

Archaeology

Welcome to the Archaeology subject guide - your guide to using the library resources, services and facilities for your subject.

Citing and avoiding plagiarism

                IAD logo

Citing and referencing demonstrates the breadth of your research and helps avoid plagiarism. To understand more about plagiarism and how and why to avoid it, see the University of Edinburgh's Institute for Academic Development's (IAD) guide:

IAD - Referencing and avoiding plagiarism


LibSmart provides advice and activities on using Library tools to help you manage your information and use correct citation and referencing, including:

  • Cite Them Right
  • Using ‘My Favourites’ and the quick citation tool in DiscoverEd
  • Using Resource lists to create a bibliography

To find out more and self-enrol: Libsmart

Good academic conduct in School of History, Classics and Archaeology

HCA have prepared guidance for undergraduates on good academic conduct, essay writing and referencing.

Information for postgraduates on good academic conduct can be found in your Programme Handbook.

Citation styles guidance

Cite Them Right Online explains and demonstrates how to cite, both in-text and in a reference list or bibliography, a wide range of material types: books, journal articles, lecture notes, law reports, web pages, computer games, live performances...

Harvard (author-date) is shown throughout but many material types are demonstrated in other citation styles too: APA, Chicago, MHRA, MLA, OSCOLA, Vancouver.

General information on referencing and plagiarism is also presented.

Fully searchable version of the standard Chicago Manual of Style, including a Quick Guide for sample citations. Chicago Style Q&A as well as examples of style sheets, letters, and forms are also available on the site.

The Library also holds earlier editions of the Chicago Manual of Style in hard copy.

Choosing a reference management software tool

If you just want to create formatted references and don't need to save them ZoteroBib (https://zbib.org/) is a free service that helps you build a bibliography instantly from any computer or device, without creating an account or installing any software.

If you want to do more, reference management software lets you store, annotate and group references and also automatically creates citations and reference lists in your documents.

There are a number of different reference management software tools available. For help in deciding which is right for you, please see our software comparison information below. 

Reference Management tools - a few option and comparisons
www.docs.is.ed.ac.uk/mvm/BiblioManagersTable.pdf

 

 

Library Bitesize - Choosing a Reference Manager (26 min video)
Introduction to three popular reference managers:Endnote, Zotero and Mendeley.

 

 

For more information, there is a self-enrol Learn course which explores four of the most popular options: Endnote,  Mendeley, Zotero and Citavi.
Choosing a Reference Manager - Learn course

Endnote

EndNote is supported by the University and available as desktop run software and as a web application. Both versions provide automatic citing in the desktop version of Microsoft Word.  

On-campus. The desktop version is installed on the open-access lab computers where the "Cite While You Write" plug-in is available on Microsoft Word.

Endnote for personal/home devices. Staff and students from subscribing Schools* can request an Endnote download to install the software on personal/home devices via Software Services
*Does not include, Informatics, Maths, Physics.

How to use Endnote 20 in 7 minutes

*Please Note* The Online Search method shown in the video is not the preferred method for adding references to Endnote and is limited to a small number of sources. The preferred route is to use DiscoverEd or to export to Endnote from the relevant database. 

 

More information provided by Clarivate Analytics - training material from Endnote

Endnote 20 Quick reference guide collection (6 pdf pages)
  quick guides 

*Please Note* The Online Search method shown in the video is not the preferred method for adding references to Endnote and is limited to a small number of sources. The preferred route is to use DiscoverEd or to export to Endnote from the relevant database. 

Endnote - Tips

Endnote - Finding the Full Text

If you are working from off-campus, we recommend setting up the Virtual Private Network (VPN) to increase the success rate for finding full text (https://www.ed.ac.uk/is/vpn)

When entering an organisation as the author, add a comma after the entry to avoid splitting the name. This will keep the author as 'Scottish Government'.

screen capture of organizational author in Endnote

A short video demonstrating how you can use EndNote to insert footnotes in Word, using Chicago (footnotes) style.

Add a page number
If you are using a style that does not support page numbers, you can still add them to your citation as follows:
1. Click on the citation that you want to add a page number to.
2. Click on the Edit & Manage Citation(s) button on the EndNote tab in Word.
3. A window will open - make sure the correct citation is selected, then type the page number into the Suffix box in the Edit Citation tab. Click OK.

This short webinar covers functions in EndNote (desktop version) that can help you manage your search results and save time with key stages of the systematic review process, including managing search results; de-duplicating results; screening within EndNote and recording decisions; exporting for screening or data extraction in other applications; obtaining full text.

EndNote Click is an extension for Chrome browser that quickly tells you if you have access to a version of a journal article that you are looking at both on and off-campus. It detects when you are looking at an article’s page and if you have access, it will provide a link to the document. It covers both our subscription e-resources and open access e-resources. EndNote Click automatically files away the pdfs you read in your own private locker, to help you organise your files. 

Sign up to EndNote Click  using the Edinburgh specific URL https://kopernio.com/try/4AKBi

Endnote Training delivered by Digital Skills

 

Webinar recording for 'EndNote for Managing References' webinar (22 Apr 21).
If you would like to attend a training event, you can find dates and book here: EndNote training events 

Zotero Training

Endnote is fully supported by the University however training and workshops are also offered for Zotero. 

Endnote and Zotero workshops are delivered online via the Institute of Academic Development www.ed.ac.uk/institute-academic-development

Zotero: https://www.zotero.org/support/quick_start_guide
 Zotero_workshop.pdf