Politics and International Relations
Welcome to the Politics and International Relations subject guide - your guide to using the library resources, services and facilities for your subject.
Main Library
To help you navigate the Main Library in George Square, watch this student tour which highlights the various resources, services and facilities available in the Main Library.
-
Main Library - orientation guideThis guide will help you to find the Main Library, and to navigate its services and collections.
Using the Online Library
The Library has a vast amount of online resources you can use for your learning and research which can be a bit overwhelming when you're first starting to use them. Our guide provides information to help you navigate all the online resources you'll need throughout your studies.
Other University of Edinburgh Libraries
There are 8 other site libraries at the University that you can visit and use.
Where are the Politics and International Relations books in the Library?
The Main Library holds the majority of books for Politics and International Relations. Most of these books are on the 2nd floor or in the HUB (High Use Book) Collection on the ground floor.
The most common shelfmarks for Politics and International Relations start with:
| H | Social Sciences, including Economics (HB-HD), Commerce (HF), Sociology (HM), Socialism, Communism, Anarchism (HX). |
| J | Political Science, including Political Theory (JC), Political Institutions and Public Administration (JF-JQ), International Relations (JZ). |
Remember the Library has access to thousands of e-books which you can access via DiscoverEd.
Centre for Research Collections
The Centre for Research Collections (CRC) is the main space for anyone using the University of Edinburgh's historic and special collections, including rare books and manuscripts, University of Edinburgh archives, personal and institutional archives, Lothian Health Services Archives, University of Edinburgh PhD theses, art collection, musical instrument collection and more.
The CRC are based on the 6th floor, Main Library.
Home and Politics: An address delivered at Toynbee Hall and Elsewhereby Mrs. Henry Fawcett, LL.D. Shelfmark: Pam.1287 © University of Edinburgh. See original image.
Top 5 Tips...Using the Library
Accessing material not in the library collection
If the library does not have what you want then there are different ways of getting access to the material:
The Inter-Library Loan (ILL) Service:
This allows you to request material either held at distant university library sites including the University Collections Facility, or material not held by the university.
Book Recommendations:
If you are unable to find the book that you need for your studies then use the Student Request a Book (RaB) service to recommend a purchase.
Visit another library:
It may be possible (and sometimes quicker) to visit another library to get access to the item you require. Some reciprocal schemes and agreements allow our staff and students access to some other libraries