Skip to main content
The University of Edinburgh home
Show/hide site search
Information Services

Archaeology

Welcome to the Archaeology subject guide - your guide to using the library resources, services and facilities for your subject.

Search Library Resources

 
Use DiscoverEd to search the Library's collections and find books, ebooks, ejournal articles and more. Use EASE to sign into your account and manage loans, requests and fines. 

Main Library

The Main Library holds the majority of books for Archaeology. Most of these books are on the 2nd floor or in the HUB Collection on the ground floor.

Resource Lists

Find your course reading lists via Resource Lists. Type in your course code or keywords from the course title, or your lecturer's name.

Please note that not all courses at the University use Resource Lists. 

HCA Librarian blog

Old books on a shelf

HCA Librarian blog

Blogging on library news, resources, services and skills for staff & students in the School of History, Classics and Archaeology.

New to the Library: Archives of Sexuality & Gender

Spanning the 16th to the 20th century this is the largest digital collection of primary source materials relating to the history and study of sex, sexuality and gender. 

New to the Library: Women's Magazine Archive

A searchable archive of leading women’s interest magazines, dating from the 19th century through to the 21st.

New to the Library: The New Republic Archive

This digital archive offers a searchable full-text backfile of all issues of The New Republic from 1914 onwards.

New to the Library - Slavery: supporters and abolitionists, 1675-1865

This database contains a wide range of documents concerning the African slave trade during the 17th, 18th and 19th centuries.

Front cover of Picture Post from 15th December 1945 showing Vivien Leigh as Cleopatra

New to the Library: Picture Post Historical Archive

The complete archive of the Picture Post from its first issue in 1938 to its last in 1957 – all digitised from originals in full colour.

Painting of Bonnie Prince Charlie entering the ballroom at Holyrood House before 30th April 1892.

New to the Library: The Stuart and Cumberland Papers

This primary source database contains two remarkable collections, The Stuart Papers and The Cumberland Papers, digitised for the first time and available online in their entirety.

Exam Papers

Exam Papers Online provides access to the collected degree examination papers of the University from 2004 onwards. They may be used by students as a study aid only.

Key databases for Archaeology


Referencing

Help!

Help with all aspects of using the Library, its facilities, services and resources, is available from the Library Helpdesks. If you are unable to find what you are looking for on this Subject Guide or on the Library website please do contact them in person, by phone or email.

If you would like help with your literature search or with finding information you can contact me directly.

Your Academic Support Librarian

Caroline Stirling's picture
Caroline Stirling
Contact:
Argyle House (Floor F East)
3 Lady Lawson Street
Edinburgh EH3 9DR
Website

Follow @HCAlibrarian

Lynda.com

Digital skills and training

Free courses available for you to book onto to develop your digital and information literacy, desktop and IT productivity skills.