A Library guide to finding standards documents
The web link below takes you to the up-to-date information about access to the Library collections, facilities and services, and how to get further help.
The University subscribes to a wide range of national and international technical standards, including the complete set of Eurocodes, are available through the databases listed below.
British Standards Online database provides access to the full-text of the complete set of all current, draft and withdrawn British Standards.
| Access information: |
Access on and off campus. |
| Description: | Full-text of over 39,000 current, draft and historic British Standards, more than 16,000 of which are BSI adopted European and International Standards (ISO) including the full-text of all Eurocodes. An email alert service is available to track any changes in selected current Standards. |
| Coverage: | Updated daily. |
The complete set of all Eurocodes is available here in full-text, through Search on the full name, e.g. “Eurocode 4”, to retrieve all parts.
Further documentation on the use and implementation of Eurocodes is available through the following online resources:
Documentation from national organisations including BRE, BSRIA, CIOB, CIBSE, CIRIA and The Institution of Structural Engineers.
Online access to full-text documentation from the Institution of Civil Engineers.
This database provides full-text of current, withdrawn and historical ASTM standards as well as ASTM journals and technical publications.
Standards developed by CEN (Comite Europeen de Normalisation) and adopted by the British Standards Institute are available in the British Standards Online database.
When searching for CEN standards in the database it is advisable to drop the prefix letters and search on the standard number alone.
The full-text of IECs (International Electrotechnical Commission) adopted by the British Standards Institute is available in the British Standards Online database.
When searching the database for IEC standards it is advisable to drop the prefix letters and search on standard number alone.
The full-text of the complete set of IEEE standards is available through the IEEE/IET Electronic Library
The full-text of ISOs (International Organisation for Standards) adopted by the British Standards Institute is available in the British Standards Online database.
When searching the database for ISO standards it is advisable to drop the prefix letters and search on standard number alone.
The University has access to a number of databases on how to find standards. Find the A-Z list of databases here:
Edinburgh University Library holds some standards in print format; these may not be the current version. They may be found by searching DiscoverEd..
Standards not available in the Library's collections may be obtained through the Library's Inter-Library Loans service. Standards available in this way include non BS equivalent ISOs and ENs.
The IS Helpline can assist and advise on all manner of IT, e-learning and Library queries.
ILI Standards Online, an index to worldwide standards, is available for searching for national and international standards and can be used to check for current status of standards. Registration is required in order to use the index.
