Subject guides: Clinical Education: Home

Welcome to the Clinical Education subject guide - your guide to using the library resources, services and facilities for your subject.

Library Services Update

This Library Services page will be kept up to date with information about access to the library collections, online access to teaching resources and how to get further help.

Library Services Update

Where to find clinical education literature

The academic field of clinical education crosses over with other disciplines. Depending on your research area it may be worthwhile looking at the databases available in other subject areas.

Key databases for education literature

British Education Index
BEI provides details about the contents of over 300 education and training journals published in the British Isles, similar report and conference literature, and texts.
ERIC
Indexes the journal and technical literature in the field of education and corresponds to the printed Resources in Education and Current Index to Journals in Education. Scope is international.
Education at Alexander Street Press
Education at Alexander Street Press focuses on the development and training of teachers. Content includes primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms, demonstrations, lectures, and documentaries to help both new and experienced teachers develop their abilities.
Education Source
Covers all levels of education - from early childhood to higher education - as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Sage Research Methods
Content from SAGE publisher on the steps involved in a research project. Full range of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods for the social and behavioural sciences, as well as many methods commonly used in the hard sciences.

More databases for Education

Key databases for medical literature

CINAHL - Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature
Covers nursing, allied health, biomedicine, behavioural science, education and consumer health journals and a wide range of other material including books, dissertations, educational software and audiovisual material.
EMBASE
A major pharmacological and biomedical literature database covering mainly journal literature (plus some book reviews and conference proceedings) with strong coverage of European journals.
Medline
Covering worldwide medical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues and health care services.
Web of Science
Citations and abstracts to millions of journal articles and conference proceedings. Impact factors, h-indexes and email alerts available.
More databases for Medicine

Found a resource that's unavailable?

If the Library only has a book or journal in print then you can request a scan of an article or book chapter to be sent to you digitally. Alternatively, if the journal is not available at the University at all, you can request scans of papers from other libraries using the University's inter-library loan service via DiscoverEd.

Inter-Library Loans and Intra-Library Loans

Can't find a book you need for your studies? Use the Request a Book service to tell us and we will try and buy it for the library.

Request a Book service

Research Methods

Sage Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods supports researcher in each step of a research project, from writing a research question, choosing a method, gathering and analyzing data, to writing up and publishing the findings. With information on the full range of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods for the social and behavioral sciences, as well as many methods commonly used in the hard sciences.
Userguide: http://sagepub.libguides.com/research-methods/researchmethods

Academic Support Librarian

Ruth Jenkins

Email Me

Contact:

Western General Hospital Library
Crewe Road South, Edinburgh, EH4 2XU

0131 651 8760

EdHelp

EdHelp
Bringing your frequently used student services together, meaning you can find what you need, all in one place.

You can also visit EdHelp on-campus at the Main Library (George Square) and the Noreen and Kenneth Murray Library (King’s Buildings).

Using the library as an online student

Using library resources as an online learner or student
Includes information on getting started using the Library, requesting scans of journal articles and book chapters, and using other libraries.

Course resource lists

Lookup resource lists by list title, course title, course code or course instructor.

Resource lists

Looking for theses and dissertations?

Thesis databases

We have various databases dedicated to searching for theses and dissertations.

Toggle navigation menu Menu

Clinical Education