Skip to Main Content
The University of Edinburgh home
Show/hide site search
Information Services

Chemistry

Subject guide to library related topics

Welcome to this library subject guide. This is the introductory page and others of interest in this guide are listed in the menu.

Current information on library resources and services during Covid-related national restrictions:
Library Services Update
 
The Library's Dissertation Festival brought together support the Library, Digital Skills and IAD provides for students undertaking their dissertations.
Dissertation Festival 25th-29th October 2021

Finding academic literature

1 hour recording of an IAD session for CSE PGTs but which is relevant for anyone who has to produce a literature review.

The topics introduced are what to consider before starting your literature review search(es), the range of information resources at UoEdinburgh, techniques to make effective use of the resources available to retrieve and manage information for your research. Plus, knowing how to be sure you can read what you need from The Library and what to do if you cannot.

The subtitles are unedited.

Just the powerpoint slides

Databases

For finding data and academic research literature for chemistry, egs SciFinder and Reaxys, Merck Index and CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics online and others.

 

Books

Use DiscoverEd to find out whether Edinburgh University Library has the book you want to read. Try using the ADVANCED SEARCH

DiscoverEd Advanced Search

Tips

Set Material Type to Books and the search to be in the Title field. If you're sure about the book's title, you can reduce results' noise even further by selecting starts with (Title search only).

A book's full DiscoverEd record will tell you what libraries have copies (you can borrow from all the centrally managed libraries).

Borrowing books and other resources

DiscoverEd will tell you how many of all the copies of a title the Library has bought are available for you to borrow, eg (7 copies, 6 available), and give the alphanumeric code (shelfmark or classmark) which is attached to that particular book, eg QD453.3 Atk.

The first part (QD453.3) of the classmark is where other books on the same topic are kept. The last part (Atk) identifies your book amongst others on the same topic.

 

How long can I borrow a book for?

In capital (uppercase) letters in brackets is how long you can borrow the different copies. If copies are out on loan you can ask for one to be returned early for you to take out. You need to choose Sign in to DiscoverEd to see this option.

 

Books online

If you are only interested in online books, use DiscoverEd's Full Text Online filter in the Refine my results menu. Online books do not all offer the same options to their readers.

Navigating Ebooks (pdf)

Ebooks in Chemistry

Journals

Some of the University of Edinburgh's online journals for chemists

Use DiscoverEd's ADVANCED SEARCH before deciding you cannot get the article you need from Edinburgh University Library.

DiscoverEd Advanced Search

tips

Set Material Type to Journals and the search to be in the Title field. If you're sure about the journal title, you can reduce results' noise even further by selecting starts with (Title search only).

Enter the journal (not article) title in the search box you have prepared.

Read the information about the years available from each place the Library has been able to buy the journal.

Choose the place which includes the issue you need.

If only a start date is given, eg Available from 1860 volume: 1 issue: 1, the most recent issues are available.

Some sellers cannot make available the most recent issues. This information is included in DiscoverEd records, eg Most recent 1 year(s) not available.

Getting copies of print articles: a free and same (week)day service

Information about the University Collections Facility

Free scans of articles sent to your email address are available of articles from print journal issues held in the University Collections Facility. Sign In to DiscoverEd and look for Digitize Other Issue

Request Other Issue is what to use if you want the print issue sent to one of the on-campus libraries for you to go to and use. The issue will probably be bound with other issues from the same volume or year and harback bound.

Scan and Deliver (digitsed extract not full copy) appears on individual journal issue holdings which happen to be on the DiscoverEd record.

Academic Support Librarian (my personal pronouns: she/her)

Noreen and Kenneth Murray Library

The main print book collections for Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Engineering, Geophysics, Mathematics and Physics are held in the Murray Library at The King's Buildings.

Noreen and Kenneth Murray Library information

 
KB101
On 6th July 1920, King George V laid the foundation stone for the first of the buildings that would form part of The University of Edinburgh's new Science campus, relocated from its former Old College premises.