This guide provides a general introduction to Library resources relating to Celtic and Scottish Studies.
Main collectionsThe Main Library holds the majority of physical collections on subjects relating to Celtic and Scottish Studies.
The current lending stock of books are on the 3rd floor and are shelved by the Library of Congress classification scheme, e.g. History is at D-F; Geography, Anthropology, Folklore, Manners and Customs at G; Language and Literature at P. Older lending collections that are classified in the Dewey decimal scheme, e.g. .4916 (Celtic Languages), 8916 (Celtic Literature) and .9 (History) are located on the 4th floor.
Bound, printed journals are located on the 4th floor. Back runs of some journals are stored in the University Collections Facility (UCF). Information on how to request material from UCF can be found in the list of useful links below.
Reference works (such as dictionaries, encyclopaedias and bibliographies) and DVDs are classified in the LC scheme and interfiled with the general LC lending stock on the 2nd and 3rd floors.
Manuscripts, rare books and archives are held in the Centre for Research Collections (CRC). Manuscripts of particular relevance to the Celtic and Scottish subjects include the Laing Collection, manuscript collections relating to the Scottish Enlightenment, business papers of Scottish companies, Scottish Gaelic manuscripts and Scottish literary manuscripts.See information about CRC below.
Printed exam papers up to academic year 2004/2005 are stored in the University Collections Facility and can be requested from there. Information on how to request material from UCF can be found in the list of useful links below. However, the majority of degree examination papers from the following academic years are available online:
Other useful links:
The High Use Books (HUB) collection, located on the ground floor of the Main Library, consists of HUB Reserve (3 hour loan) and HUB Short Loan (7 day loan) books as well as offprints (photo copies of course reading material).
Undergraduate course books on Reserve and Short Loan for Celtic and Scottish Studies are located in this collection.
There is a substantial amount of manuscripts and archives in the Centre for Research Collections (CRC) relating to Celtic and Scottish Studies. The main CRC facilities are on the 6th floor of the Main Library.
Some named collections in the CRC are:
The School of Scottish Studies Archives, established in 1951, is a unique resource centre of national and international significance documenting the lives of the people of
It is located at 29 George Square next to the Main Library.
The extensive collections specialise in audio and video recordings, visual and photographic images, and manuscripts, papers and documents relating to the cultural life, oral traditions, folklore and traditional arts of Scotland. Material comes mainly from rural and urban communities in Scotland and its diaspora, in the languages of Gaelic, Scots and English.
A sound archive comprising some 33,000 recordings, a photographic archive containing thousands of images from the 1930s onwards, a small film and video collection and a manuscript archive. Subjects cover:
Alongside the Scottish Studies Archives is a large collection of about 11,000 items, known as the Scottish Studies Library. This is an important collection of ethnological books, reference works, periodicals and other publications, both Scottish and international, which is used as a resource to contextualise the fieldwork material in the School of Scottish Studies Archives.Most of the items are on DiscoverEd.
How to search for Scottish Studies Library items in DiscoverEd?
1. Search results can be filtered to "Scottish Studies Library" on the left-hand side filter menu.
2. Go to Advanced Search, do 'Shelfmark' search using Scott* stud* Lib* for 'All items':
3. Finding material from The School of Scottish Studies Archive Online on the Tobar an Dualchais/Kist o' Riches online resource.
