Gender and Sexuality Studies
Welcome to the Gender and Sexuality Studies Guide - giving you information on library resources and services relating to gender and queer studies.
Menu
genderED
genderED creates a virtual space to showcase excellence in teaching, research and Knowledge Exchange Impact in gender and sexuality studies at the University of Edinburgh. It provides a dynamic directory and up-to-date resources on gender and sexualities courses, researchers, research projects, networks, blogs, social media and events from the College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences (CAHSS) and beyond.
You can find out more about gender ED via their Twitter account (@UoE_genderED).
Athena SWAN
Advance HE’s Athena SWAN Charter evolved from work between the Athena Project and the Scientific Women’s Academic Network (SWAN), to advance the representation of women in science, technology, engineering, medicine and mathematics (STEMM).
With the support of Equality Challenge Unit (now part of Advance HE) and the UKRC, the Charter was officially launched at the Institute of Physics on 22 June 2005, with the first awards conferred in 2006.
In May 2015 the scope of Advance HE’s Athena SWAN Charter was expanded to cover gender equality in arts, humanities, social sciences, business and law disciplines, and in professional and support roles, and for trans staff and students. The charter now recognises work undertaken to address gender equality more broadly, and not just barriers to progression that affect women.
You can read more about the Athena SWAN Charter and the University of Edinburgh awards here.
Women's History
The Edinburgh Seven
The Edinburgh Seven were the first group of matriculated undergraduate female students at any British university. They began studying medicine at the University of Edinburgh in 1869 and although they were ultimately prevented from graduating and qualifying as doctors, the campaign they fought gained national attention and won them many supporters. It put the rights of women to a university education on the national political agenda, which in 1876 resulted in legislation to ensure that women could study at university.
In July 2019, the University of Edinburgh presented the seven with posthumous degrees.
Discover more about the Edinburgh Seven and the celebratory events marking the 150th anniversary of their enrolment at the University here.
Online Resources for Gender Studies
- The Feminist LibraryThe Feminist Library is a large archive collection of feminist literature, particularly Women’s Liberation Movement materials dating from the late 1960s to the 1990s. They support research, activist and community projects in this field.
- The Feminist Studies AssociationThe FSA is a UK and Ireland based network promoting feminist research and teaching, and women’s studies nationally and internationally. Through its elected executive committee, the FSA is involved in developing policy on issues of central importance to feminist scholars in further and higher education, supporting postgraduate events and enabling feminist research.
- Glasgow Women's LibraryGlasgow Women’s Library is the only Accredited Museum in the UK dedicated to women’s lives, histories and achievements, with a lending library, archive collections and innovative programmes of public events & learning opportunities.
- OECD Gender, Equality and Development ResourcesThe OECD Gender Initiative examines existing barriers to gender equality in education, employment, and entrepreneurship. This website monitors the progress made by governments to promote gender equality in both OECD and non- OECD countries and provides good practices based on analytical tools and reliable data.
- Road to EqualityA Google Arts & Culture project celebrating the stories behind 100 years of women's rights in the UK. Contains a wealth of curated material including online exhibitions, videos and editorial features.
- Routledge Historical Resources: History of FeminismHistory of Feminism is an exciting new online platform that brings together the best and most relevant scholarship from Taylor & Francis, its imprints, and its authors. It is the first part of the new Routledge Historical Resources online programme that will provide both academics and students with an in depth research tool for studying the long Nineteenth Century through thematic collections in areas such as Feminism, the History of Economic Thought, Romanticism and Empire. This resource covers the fascinating subject of feminism over the long nineteenth century (1776–1928)
- Women's Knowledge Digital LibraryCreated in 2015, Women's Knowledge Digital Library (WKDL) is an online repository of information by and about women and girls. The goal of the project is to provide users with trusted information that is easily and efficiently accessible and that which can be used in the education and empowerment of women and girls worldwide.
- The Women's Library @ LSETake a journey through the personal, political and economic struggles that have symbolised women's battle for equality over the past 500 years, through a representative selection of the broad range of materials in London School of Economics Library and The Women's Library @ LSE. Contains a chronological presentation of more than 300 items from the 16th Century to the present day.
Reference Works for Gender Studies
Bodies of Information: Intersectional Feminism and Digital Humanities by ISBN: 1452958580Publication Date: 2019-01-08
Journals for Gender Studies
Bibliographies for Gender Studies
Gender Studies Databases
The following databases provide access to a wide range of historical documents relevant to learning, teaching and research in women's history e.g. government documents, newspapers, pamphlets, legal documents, personal papers and other primary sources.
- British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries
- Epistolae: Medieval Women's Letters
- Feminist Periodicals
- Gerritsen Women's History Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs
- Independent Voices: Feminist
- Library of Congress Women's and Gender Studies Web Archive
- Men's Magazine Archive
- Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires Since 1820
- Women's Studies Manuscript Collections from the Schlesinger Library
- The Women's Wear Daily Archive
- Women Writers Online
