Scandinavian Studies
This guide provides a general introduction to Library and information resources for the study of Search tools, websites and gateways for Scandinavian studies.
Dictionaries
-
Cambridge English-Danish DictionaryCall Number: Freely available online
-
Dansk-Engelsk ordbog byCall Number: New College Library@ 40 George Square (REFERENCE) Ref. PD3640 Axe.ISBN: 9788702072464Publication Date: 2007
-
Dansk-engelsk ordbog for udlændinge = Danish-English dictionary for foreigners byCall Number: Main Library (STANDARD LOAN) - 3rd floor PD3640 Bos.; Main Library (REFERENCE) - 3rd floor Ref. PD3640 Bos. & Main Library (HUB SHORT LOAN) - Ground floor PD3640 Bos.ISBN: 9788792000330Publication Date: 2012
-
-
Gyldendals ordbøger ‘Engelsk PRO’Gyldendal ordbøger ‘Engelsk PRO’ is an essential and authoritative online dictionary resource for the Danish language. The Ordbogen.com platform itself has a large variety of language dictionaries. Our subscription gives us access to the following three Danish-English / English-Danish dictionaries:
1. Gyldendal Dansk-Engelsk-Dansk Ordbog (Den Røde) = Danish-English / English-Danish dictionary
2. Gyldendal Dansk-Engelsk-Dansk Ordbog (Den Store) = Danish-English / English-Danish comprehensive dictionary
3. Gyldendal Dansk-Engelsk-Dansk Fagordbog = Danish-English / English-Danish dictionary of specialised terminology.
When you perform a search on the platform, it returns search results automatically from these three dictionaries instead of searching all the dictionaries. -
Skandinavisk ordbok / utarbeidet av Birgitta Lindgren [and others]; utgitt i samarbeid med Nordisk Språksekretariat. byCall Number: Main Library Closed Stack Ref. .4 Nor/2 Ska.ISBN: 8257306304; 9119355327; 8700210463Publication Date: 1994Published simultaneously by Norstedts (Sweden), Gyldendal (Denmark), and Kunnskapsforlaget (Norway).
-
-
Islensk-ensk, ensk-íslensk vasaorðabók byCall Number: Main Library (STANDARD LOAN) - 3rd floor PD2437 Isl. LOCATEISBN: 9789979535676Publication Date: 2014
-
Íslensk orðsifjabók byCall Number: Main Library Closed Stack Ref. .4 Ice. Asg.Publication Date: 1989
-
SnaraCall Number: Online accessPublication Date: 2020Icelandic–English dictionary, Icelandic monolingual dictionary, plus other language combinations and specialised dictionaries.
Format -
-
Bokmålsordboka | Nynorskordboka This is the most authoritative dictionary of Norwegian, and it is online. It is only in Norwegian, but it has both Bokmål and Nynorsk. It also has the added benefit of showing all the various forms of nouns, adjectives, and verbs. The University of Bergen has also developed a mobile application based on this dictionary.Call Number: Freely available online
-
Cambridge English-Norwegian DictionaryCall Number: Freely available online
-
Collins engelsk-norsk ordbok = English-Norwegian dictionary byCall Number: Main Library (HUB SHORT LOAN) - Ground floor PD2691 Sin.ISBN: 9780004707051Publication Date: 1998
-
-
Engelsk-norsk stor ordbok byCall Number: Main Library (REFERENCE) - 3rd floor Ref. PD2691 Eng.ISBN: 8257312886Publication Date: 2001
-
Engelsk-Norsk teknisk ordbok byCall Number: Main Library (REFERENCE) - 3rd floor Ref. T10 Pre.ISBN: 8257313130Publication Date: 2002
-
Norwegian-English dictionary : a pronouncing and translating dictionary of modern Norwegian (Bokmål and Nynorsk) with a historical and grammatical introduction byCall Number: Online accessISBN: 9786613470430Publication Date: 1974New edition
-
Norwegian grammar dictionary byCall Number: Main Library (STANDARD LOAN) - 3rd floor PD2623 Rys. & (REFERENCE) - 3rd floor Ref. PD2623 Rys.ISBN: 8245004804Publication Date: 2007
-
Norwegian practical dictionary : Norwegian-English, English-Norwegian byCall Number: Main Library (HUB SHORT LOAN) - Ground floor PD2691 Ziu.ISBN: 9780781811064Publication Date: 2011
-
Skandinavisk ordbok / utarbeidet av Birgitta Lindgren [and others]; utgitt i samarbeid med Nordisk Språksekretariat. byCall Number: Main Library Closed Stack Ref. .4 Nor/2 Ska.ISBN: 8257306304; 9119355327; 8700210463Publication Date: 1994Published simultaneously by Norstedts (Sweden), Gyldendal (Denmark), and Kunnskapsforlaget (Norway).
-
-
-
Natur och kulturs svenska ordbok byCall Number: Main Library (REFERENCE) - 3rd floor Ref. PD5625 Koh.ISBN: 9789127570627Publication Date: 2001
-
-
Norstedts engelska ordbok professionell : engelsk-svensk/svensk-engelsk byCall Number: Main Library (STANDARD LOAN) - 3rd floor PD5640 Nor. & Main Library (REFERENCE) - 3rd floor Ref. PD5640 Nor.ISBN: 9789113022840Publication Date: 2-1-2 volumes. Multiple copies available.
-
Norstedts stora svensk-engelska ordbok : Norstedts comprehensive Swedish-English dictionary byCall Number: Main Library (REFERENCE) - 3rd floor Ref. PD5640 Nor.ISBN: 9119253729Publication Date: 1993
-
Norstedts svenska ordbok byCall Number: Main Library (REFERENCE) - 3rd floor Ref. PD5625 Nor.ISBN: 9172271817Publication Date: 1999
-
Nyord i svenskan : blogg, fulbryt, pudla, rondellhund och andra nytillskott från A till Ö byCall Number: Main Library (STANDARD LOAN) - 3rd floor PD5630 Aga.ISBN: 9789198092257Publication Date: 2015
-
Skandinavisk ordbok / utarbeidet av Birgitta Lindgren [and others]; utgitt i samarbeid med Nordisk Språksekretariat. byCall Number: Main Library Closed Stack Ref. .4 Nor/2 Ska.ISBN: 8257306304; 9119355327; 8700210463Publication Date: 1994Published simultaneously by Norstedts (Sweden), Gyldendal (Denmark), and Kunnskapsforlaget (Norway).
-
Svenska akademiens ordlista över svenska språket byCall Number: Main Library (REFERENCE) - 3rd floor Ref. PD5625 Sve.ISBN: 9172274190Publication Date: 2006
-
Svensk ordbok byCall Number: Main Library (REFERENCE) - 3rd floor Ref. PD5625 Sve.ISBN: 9789113022673Publication Date: 20092 volumes
-
Svensk skolordlista : [35,000 ord och fraser] byCall Number: Main Library (REFERENCE) - 3rd floor Ref. PD5625 Sve.ISBN: 9789172272972Publication Date: 2004
-
Swedish dictionary : English-Swedish, Swedish-EnglishCall Number: Main Library (REFERENCE) - 3rd floor Ref. PD5640 Swe.ISBN: 0415132444Publication Date: 1995
Encyclopedias, companions and handbooks
-
The Cambridge companion to Ibsen byCall Number: Online accessISBN: 1139815172Publication Date: 1994
-
A Companion to Old Norse‐Icelandic Literature and Culture byCall Number: Online accessISBN: 9780631235026Publication Date: 2008
-
Encyclopedia of Nordic crime fiction : works and authors of Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden since 1967 byCall Number: Online accessISBN: 9781476622774Publication Date: 2016
-
Introduction to Nordic cultures byCall Number: Online accessISBN: 9781787353992Publication Date: 2020
-
Medieval Scandinavia : an encyclopedia byCall Number: Main Library (REFERENCE) - 2nd floor Ref. Folio DL30 Med.ISBN: 0824047877Publication Date: 1993
-
Norwegian: an essential grammar byCall Number: Main Library (STANDARD LOAN) - 3rd floor PD2623 Str.ISBN: 0415109795Publication Date: 1995