This guide provides a general introduction to Library and information resources for the study of Search tools, websites and gateways for Scandinavian studies.
The Library uses the term ‘database’ to describe a searchable online resource which forms an increasingly important part of our overall Library collections. Usually, the Library pays for access to copyrighted content within licensed databases, although a small number may be freely avialable to access.
You might be able to find references to licensed databases by searching Google, but you'll only be able to access them via UoE login by following the links from Databases A-Z or Databaes by Subject, that is, if we do own or subscribe to the databases you need.
A database may be dedicated to a single subject (e.g. Beckett Digital Library) or cover several subjects (e.g. Arts and Humanities Citation Index). Some publishers also provide a single platform which allows you to search across all their databases from one website (e.g. ProQuest).
You can find a variety of resources:
Early European Books provides over 30,000 digitised books printed in European before 1701, offering full-colour, high-resolution facsimile images of rare and hard-to-access printed sources. The University of Edinburgh has access to all the 17 collections. Further details can be found at http://proquest.libguides.com/eeb.
The database contains 3,799 books in the Danish language, 195 Icelandic, 114 Swedish and 10 Norwegian. You can retrieve the full list via "Browse by Languages":
Or click the link below:
The Library regularly arranges trials to new resources, including databases. It's always worthwhile checking the list of current trials as there could be something available for a short period that is just what you are looking for.
Primary texts, criticism (journal articles and dissertations), reference works and contextual literary movements in one place. Author pages also show criticism over time and audio-visual files if available (e.g. recordings of poets reading their own work)
ProQuest One Literature contains 3 million literature citations from thousands of journals, monographs, dissertations, and more than 500,000 primary works – including rare and obscure texts, multiple versions, and non-traditional sources like comics, theatre performances, and author readings.
As of October 2020, ProQuest One Literature contains 456 primary texts by Danish, Finnish, Icelandic, Norwegian and Swedist authors. click the search link below to access these texts:
