Celtic and Scottish Studies

There are some 1,000 items (books, journals, DVDs, etc.) in Scottish Gaelic via DiscoverEd. To retrieve such a list:

1) use 'Gaelic' as search term for 'all items' that contains the term 'anywhere in the record':

2) filter the search results by language for 'Scottish Gaelic':

Gaelic history and culture is strongly represented in the archive / manuscript collections in the Centre for Research Collections. Keyword search for 'Gaelic' in Archives Online retrieves 3,194 results. Notable collections are:

• Gaelic Literature (Notes for series of lectures), 1892-1893
• Gaelic Liturgy - Ùrnaighean Coitcheann Gàidhlig Foirm na nurrnuidheadh agas freasdal na sacramuinteadh, agas foirceadul an chreidimh Christuidhe andso sios. This is the only copy in Scotland of the first book printed in Gaelic. The book has been fully digitised and can be viewed online.
• Gaelic manuscripts
• Carmichael Watson Collection - Cruinneachadh MhicGilleMhìcheil MhicBhatair
• Donald MacKinnon - Dòmhnall MacFhionghain
• Laing Collection - Cruinneachadh Laing
• Marjory Kennedy-Fraser - Marsaili Cheanadach-Fhriseal
• Robert Kirk - Raibeart Kirk
• Scottish Gaelic Ballads (Notebook containing Gaelic ballads, 18th or 19th century)
• Scottish Gaelic Language - Dictionaries (13 historical dictionaries, 18th to early 20th century)
• Scottish Gaelic Literature (82 collections and/or records)
• Scottish Gaelic Poetry (38 collections and/or records)
• Scottish Gaelic Songs (7 collections and/or records)
• Scottish Gaelic Songbooks (2 collections and/or records)
• Twentieth Century Gaelic Poetry - Bàrdachd Ghàidhlig an Fhicheadamh Linn

• Other Manuscripts - Làmh-sgrìobhainnean eile

For detailed information about these collections, see CRC website Gàidhlig / Gaelic Resources.

New College Library's collections contain over 400 Gaelic monographs and pamphlets dating from the 18th to 20th centuries. They can be identified on DiscoverEd using Advanced Search for shelfmark Gaelic Coll:

Manuscript material includes James Kirkwood's late 17th- / early 18th-century correspondence relating to the providing of Irish (Gaelic) Bibles to the Highlands and Islands. Enquiries should be directed to new.college.library@ed.ac.uk or you can visit the library in person.

The University's media and streaming service Media Hopper Create has a Gaelic channel which contains 116 media - films, documentaries and childrens programs recorded in Gaelic. These items are NOT yet catalogued in DiscoverEd.

• Gaelic Section

The School of Scottish Studies Archives, embracing 16,000 hours of sound and video recordings, a major photographic collection, and a rich variety of manuscript material, are a vital repository of Scottish culture and ethnography, and an internationally significant hub for teaching and research in folklore, material culture, and the traditional arts. Gaelic related items include:

• Tales, songs, music, local history and folklore, and ethnographic information recorded from communities in all traditionally Gaelic-speaking areas of the Highlands and Islands as well as the Gaelic diaspora from 1951 onwards.
• Manuscript holdings include nearly 10,000 pages concerning Gaelic custom and belief recorded for the Folklore Society under the auspices of Robert Craig Maclagan (1839–1919).
• Also a number of specialist resources including the Gaelic Linguistic Survey and the Place-name Survey.

Full information about the collections can be found on the archives' webpages.

The University has made many of the recordings in the School of Scottish Studies available for use in the Tobar an Dualchais/Kist O Riches project - these are now digitised on their website. This website contains over 40,000 oral recordings made in Scotland and further afield, from the 1930s onwards. The items you can listen to include stories, songs, music, poetry and factual information.

•  Tobar an Dualchais/Kist o Riches 

The Library subscribes to Music and Dance Online which gives access to 10 million audio tracks, 3,600+ videos, 1.3 million pages of scores and 124,000+ pages of reference material on world music and dance. It contains 313 collections of music and songs in Gaelic.

• Music and Dance - Gaelic
• User guide

Examples:

Many more...