Sport & Physical Education

Finding scholarly literature

We have organised our collections of digital resources and databases by subject areas, and alphabetically. Use these databases to search for scholarly literature e.g. journal articles, book chapters & reviews, conference reports and proceedings, etc., for your subject area.

SAGE Research Methods

A good starting point for information on research methods is SAGE Research Methods. 

It contains content on the steps involved in a research project, including a full range of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods for the social and behavioural sciences, as well as many methods commonly used in the hard sciences.

Topics: Key concepts in research, Philosophy of research, Research ethics, Planning research, Research design, Data collection, Data quality and data management, Qualitative data analysis, Quantitative data analysis,  Writing and disseminating research.

SAGE Research Methods also includes a project planner designed to guide you through a research project.

Education theses

University of Edinburgh theses awarded in Education are online in the University's research repository, Edinburgh Research Archive (ERA). They are Open Access (except where commercial and other restrictions apply).

Moray House School of Education Theses and Dissertations on ERA

Centre for Research Collections (CRC)

The CRC is the main space for anyone using the University of Edinburgh's cultural and heritage collections, comprising

  • Rare books & manuscripts
  • Archives (UoE & external)
  • University’s art & historical musical instrument collections
  • Lothian Health Service Archive
  • Collection images
  • Theses - also available in ERA (Edinburgh Research Archive)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The CRC offers a range of research services and resources and regularly organises impressive displays of its historic artefacts.

Centre for Research Collections

Grey Literature