Science, Technology and Innovation Studies
Welcome to the Science, Technology and Innovation Studies subject guide - your guide to using the library resources, services and facilities for your subject.
Finding Library Resources - DiscoverEd
DiscoverEd
DiscoverEd is the library's discovery tool and library catalogue. Use it to search for books, journals, articles, databases, online access and much more. You can find a simple guide we've made for getting started with DiscoverEd here (Microsoft Sway).
Other useful help pages from our website include:
- Searching DiscoverEd
- DiscoverEd FAQs
- Using the Library
- How to borrow and renew books
- Accessing e-resources
Don't forget that you can ask the Library Helpdesk staff for advice and assistance.
Key databases for Science, Technology and Innovation Studies
- ASSIA (Applied Social Science Index and Abstracts)Indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly, ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional. It contains records from over 500 journals published in 16 different countries, including the UK and US.
- History of Science, Technology and MedicineDescribes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science and technology and allied historical fields. Comprises three bibliographies: the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology (Technology and Culture), and the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza. Updated annually.
- Web of Science Core CollectionCitations and abstracts to millions of journal articles and conference proceedings from all subjects. Impact factors, h-indexes and email alerts available.
Your Academic Support Librarians
Resource lists and Subject guides
Resource Lists are online reading lists that can signpost you to key reading materials. Some of your courses may have a Resource List embedded in the Virtual Learning Environment (VLE) but you can also access them directly. Full details are available on the Resource Lists: Information for Students webpage.
Other subject guides can be a useful source of ideas and information. 
Beginner's guide
This is a short video introducing you to the University Library and it's resources, services and facilities.
- Beginner's guide to the Library - original videoFollow this link to see original video on MediaHopper, with downloadable presentation slides.
Online learning
The Library provides access to many e-resources, but we also provide lots of other services and support for students on online learning programmes.
- Library services for online learning students
- How to set up and use the Virtual Private Network (VPN)