A range of links to library and information resources for History of Art. These include local collections, networked services and external websites.
This Library Services page will be kept up to date with information about access to the library collections, online access to teaching resources and how to get further help.
The Academic Support Librarian team have created a new Libguide giving advice and guidance on race studies, decolonising the curriculum, and matters relating to EDI (Equality, Diversity & Inclusion). You can go to it here: https://edinburgh-uk.libguides.com/race
For a complete list of history of art related databases please go to https://www.ed.ac.uk/information-services/library-museum-gallery/finding-resources/library-databases/databases-subject-a-z/databases-art
The following is a selection of publicly-accessible collections which you may find useful. Each collection meets one or more of the following criteria:
Remember that the exact permitted uses vary for each collection.
You should check each website’s terms and conditions or copyright information before reproducing any images.
40,000 images from the Courtauld Institute and Conway Library collections.
This website provides access to various databases - some in French only, others available in English - including the Atlas database of 35,000 works of art exhibited in the world-famous Paris museum.
Metropolitan Museum of Art: more than 400,000 high-resolution digital images of public domain works in the Museum's world-renowned collection may be downloaded directly from the Museum's website for non-commercial use-including in scholarly publications in any media-without permission from the Museum and without a fee. The number of available images will increase as new digital files are added on a regular basis. Works that are covered by the new policy are identified on the Museum's website with the acronym OASC (Open Access for Scholarly Content). The Museum provides access to images of art in its collection that it believes to be in the public domain and free of other known restrictions; these images are now available for scholarly use in any media.
Browse or search over 30,000 works from the museum’s collection.
View the Gallery’s collection of over 2,300 works online, with the ability to zoom in and view paintings in considerable detail.
Explore and search the online collections of the National Portrait Gallery in London.
Online database of the collections of Tate Britain, Tate Modern, Tate Liverpool and Tate St Ives, including many images and accompanying information.
The V&A (Victoria and Albert) Museum’s award-winning collections database. Contents include ceramics, fashion, furniture, glass, metalwork, paintings, photographs, prints, sculpture and textiles.
A collection of images of work by well-known designers and companies.
UbuWeb is an independent resource dedicated to avant-garde arts, ethnopoetics, and outsider arts, including film, sound, music and dance. All materials on UbuWeb are made available for non-commercial and educational use only. All rights belong to the author(s). UbuWeb is free to access.
An archive of electronic information in the visual arts incorporating a growing number of image collections for educational use.
Over 300,000 images from 50 collections using Insight image handling software from Luna Imaging.
Multimedia portal that allows you to search over 14 million items from museums, libraries, archives and other collections across Europe. These include images of paintings, drawings, maps, photos and museum objects as well as text, audio and video.
Online catalogue of prints and photographs held by the United States Library of Congress.
Provides free access to high quality images from worldwide digital collections of reputable organizations such as galleries and museums, using the Luna Insight browser.
Collections for History of Art at Edinburgh University.
Standard and short loan books are shelved, together with reference books for the subject, at Library or Congress (LC) classification shelfmarks N and NA.
Older standard and short loan books are located at Dewey shelfmark .72 onwards.
The following link gives full details of the locations of all of the Main Library's collections:
The ECA Library collection consists of some 65,000 books and 300 periodical subscriptions along with DVDs, maps, slides and artists' books. ECA Library supports learning, teaching and research in architecture, landscape architecture, architectural history, history of art, and art and design.
Contains books on architectural design, architectural theory and practice, architectural history, construction, planning and urban design, technical books, landscape architecture and landscape history, professional practice, presentation techniques, CAAD and digital media.
About 80 current journal titles and CDs, student dissertations and work placement reports are held in the Art & Architecture Library.
We have various databases dedicated to searching for theses and dissertations.