Biological Sciences
A range of links to library and information resources for biological sciences. This guide has been compiled by the Academic Support Librarian for the School of Biological Sciences.
Library News and Events
Information about Library news, training, events and service updates.
Find books and e-books
Use DiscoverEd to find books, ebooks, ejournal articles and more. Use Your University Login to access your Library Account and manage loans, requests and fines.
Need help using DiscoverEd? Check the FAQs.
Exam papers
Exam Papers Online provides access to the collected degree examination papers of the University from 2004 onwards. They may be used by students as a study aid only.
Referencing
- Cite Them Right OnlineEverything you need to know about citing and referencing resources in a range of referencing styles (including APA & Harvard).
- Read. Write. CiteSome useful general guidance from the Edinburgh University Students' Association (EUSA).
- ScribbrFree online Citation Tools (including Citation Generator), which can help automate the building of bibliographies in a range of referencing styles, such as APA & Harvard.
- APA Style BlogRegularly updated, this blog from the American Psychological Association (APA) provides advice on using the APA Style.
- Cite this for meA free online tool that helps automate the building of bibliographies using the Harvard, APA, MLA referencing formats.
Archival and manuscript resources for science and engineering research
The Centre for Research Collections houses the University of Edinburgh's cultural and heritage collections. The Science and Engineering Resources include a guide to institutional records that cover the history of science and engineering at the University of Edinburgh, as well as institutional records and personal papers for major figures in biological sciences (including Sir Kenneth Murray, Lady Noreen Murray, and Martin Rivers Pollock), chemistry, engineering, geosciences, mathematics, and physics and astronomy.
Finding Biological Sciences literature
Web of Science
Citations and abstracts to millions of journal articles and conference proceedings. Impact factors, h-indexes and email alerts available.
BIOSIS Citation Index
The electronic version of Biological Abstracts provides information about contents of journals, meetings, patents, and books in the life sciences and biomedical research. Covers pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies.
CAB Abstracts
CAB Abstracts is the world's leading agricultural database. Find journals, books, conferences and reports. It covers significant research and development literature in the fields of animal and crop husbandry, animal and plant breeding, plant protection, genetics, forestry, veterinary medicine, aspects of human health, human nutrition, rural development, leisure and tourism and the management and conservation of natural resources
MEDLINE
Covering worldwide medical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues and health care services.
SciFinder
Requires personal registration. To use SciFinder off-campus, you must access the University network via the VPN service. Bibliographic information and abstracts of articles published from more than 10,000 journals. Covers chemistry (all aspects), chemical structures and patents, chemical engineering, biochemistry, biotechnology, genetics. Information on more than 50 million chemical substances.
Getting help
If you would like help with your literature search or with finding information you can contact me directly to book a session in person, phone or online.
If you need to contact us for help with any Library service please get in touch with the IS Helpdesk. There is also a copyright service for related enquiries and an online form if you would like to make a comment, complaint or suggestion.
Other useful resources
Help finding information online
Useful tips and advice to help find information for study and research online using Library databases, ejournals and the internet.
Grey literature
Grey literature are sources of literature which may be considered unpublished, or non-standard academic literature, eg theses and technical reports. In addition, reports from government or organisations working in your field of interest which may be of the right standard for your work.
Theses
Information about theses, including access and submission.
Training and Digital Skills
A wide range of courses are available throughout the year delivered either classroom based or online. These include finding library resources for your studies, referencing and reference management tools.
Institute for Academic Development (IAD) for academic and study skills.
Digital Skills and Training for digital, information literacy and IT skills.
Resources for distance learning students
The Library provides access to many eresources, but we also provide lots of other services and support for students on online distance learning programmes.
Academic Support Librarian
Easter Bush
and
Murchison House (Room 3.21)
The King's Buildings
Course Resource Lists
Lookup resource lists by list title, course title, course code or course instructor.
Please note that not all Biological Sciences courses have a Resource List.
Found a resource that's unavailable?
Use Inter-Library Loans and Intra-Library Loans to have resources (digital and hardcopies) delivered from other campuses and other libraries around the world.
Can't find a book you need for your studies?
Use the Request a Book service to tell us and we will try and buy it for the library.