A range of links to library and information resources for architecture and landscape architecture. These include local collections, networked services and external websites.
This page contains current information on library closures, loans and fines, support for online learning, online access to teaching resources and how to get further help.
For a complete list of architecture, landscape architecture, and architectural history-related databases please go to https://www.ed.ac.uk/information-services/library-museum-gallery/finding-resources/library-databases/databases-subject-a-z/databases-architecture
Standard and short loan books are shelved, together with reference books for the subject, at Library or Congress (LC) classification shelfmarks N and NA.
Older standard and short loan books are located at Dewey shelfmark .72 onwards.
The following link gives full details of the locations of all of the Main Library's collections:
The ECA collection consists of some 65,000 books and 300 periodical subscriptions along with DVDs, maps, slides and artists' books. ECA Library supports learning, teaching and research in architecture, landscape architecture, architectural history, history of art, and art and design.
Contains books on architectural design, architectural theory and practice, architectural history, construction, planning and urban design, technical books, landscape architecture and landscape history, professional practice, presentation techniques, CAAD and digital media.
About 80 current journal titles and CDs, student dissertations and work placement reports are held in the Art & Architecture Library.
The Commission for Architecture and the Built Environment (CABE) library of England's best buildings and spaces.
Provides access to virtual geographical information.
Landscape Institute Library
The Landscape Institute Library holds Europe's largest specialist collection of books, journals, and publications relating to landscape architecture. The catalogue includes journal articles as well as references to relevant contents / chapters in individual books.
A guide highighting a selection of resources - some available on the internet, others through a University subscription - with multimedia content that is copyright cleared or labelled with a Creative Commons licence permitting its re-use.
From the Royal Incorporation of Architects in Scotland (RIAS).
The catalogue of the Royal Incorporation of British Architects (RIBA) British Architectural Library functions as an index to over 300 architectural journals.
The catalogue also contains details of books and audio visual materials held by the RIBA Library.
Search Tip: To restrict your search to journal articles only, make sure that collections is set to Journals.
The Royal Institute of the Architects of Ireland (RIAI) is the regulatory and support body for architects in Ireland. Use the link below to access the RIAI Register of Architects and to download their official journal, Architecture Ireland
Searchable database of building products and suppliers, including images, case studies, technical data, catalogues, news and project data.
SpecifiedBy was created in Edinburgh to help specifiers find and research building products and materials through modern search, comparison and information management tools. By providing well-structured, open data for thousands of products, the service aims to provide the most comprehensive database of products and materials in the UK and save construction professionals time in the process. You can sign up for free.
ESI's online product information service covering external works, building products, interior design and building services.
A leading UK resource for landscape architects and architects involved in landscaping projects.
Dutch registration-based service providing free access to information on thousands of materials.
A leading resource on building products, NBS (National Building Specification) information and RIBA (Royal Incorporation of British Architects) CPD with free access to product catalogues, technical documents and contact information of over 10,000 UK manufacturers, suppliers, distributors, trade associations and construction service providers.
German registration-based service providing free access to information on thousands of design products and materials.
For "All you wanted to know about timber ..." in the construction industry.
Students and staff can register for free student membership: Membership
We have various databases dedicated to searching for theses and dissertations.
The University Library has an agreement with the Scottish Building Contracts Committee (SBCC) to allow matriculated students and also University staff free access to the SBCC contracts online service. SBCC provides contractual documentation you would need for your building and construction work in Scotland.
Access is by username and password. To see these, go to the EASE password-protected "Electronic Resources Usernames and Passwords" library webpage
Please note – we do have the right to free access to this resource so IGNORE stated costs and simply proceed to create a document by clicking the “Download Contract for Educational Use” link. If you have problems accessing this resource please contact your Academic Support Librarian or email IS.Helpline@ed.ac.uk