Skip to main content
The University of Edinburgh home
Show/hide site search
Information Services

Architecture, Landscape Architecture and Architectural History

A range of links to library and information resources for architecture and landscape architecture. These include local collections, networked services and external websites.

Academic Support Librarian for ESALA

Jane Furness's picture
Jane Furness
Contact:
I am based at Edinburgh College of Art Library, Evolution House, West Port

Main Library

Keep up-to-date with the Library!

Databases for ESALA

For a complete list of architecture, landscape architecture, and architectural history-related databases please go to http://www.ed.ac.uk/information-services/library-museum-gallery/finding-resources/library-databases/databases-subject-a-z/databases-architecture

Architecture, landscape architecture, and architectural history collections

Main Library

Standard and short loan books are shelved, together with reference books for the subject, at Library or Congress (LC) classification shelfmarks N and NA.

Older standard and short loan books are located at Dewey shelfmark .72 onwards.

The following link gives full details of the locations of all of the Main Library's collections:

Edinburgh College of Art (ECA) Library

The ECA collection consists of some 65,000 books and 300 periodical subscriptions along with DVDs, maps, slides and artists' books. ECA Library supports learning, teaching and research in architecture, landscape architecture, architectural history, history of art, and art and design.

Art and Architecture Library

Contains books on architectural design, architectural theory and practice, architectural history, construction, planning and urban design, technical books, landscape architecture and landscape history, professional practice, presentation techniques, CAAD and digital media.

About 80 current journal titles and CDs, student dissertations and work placement reports are held in the Art & Architecture Library.

Internet resources for Architecture

AATA Online: Abstracts of International Conservation Literature

AATA Online

CABE Case Studies

The Commission for Architecture and the Built Environment (CABE) library of England's best buildings and spaces.

Google Earth

Provides access to virtual geographical information.

Landscape Institute Library

The Landscape Institute Library holds Europe's largest specialist collection of books, journals, and publications relating to landscape architecture. The catalogue includes journal articles as well as references to relevant contents / chapters in individual books.

Multimedia resources for Teaching

A guide highighting a selection of resources - some available on the internet, others through a University subscription - with multimedia content that is copyright cleared or labelled with a Creative Commons licence permitting its re-use.

RIAS Directory of Architect's Practices

From the Royal Incorporation of Architects in Scotland (RIAS).

RIBA Library

The catalogue of the Royal Incorporation of British Architects (RIBA) British Architectural Library functions as an index to over 300 architectural journals.

The catalogue also contains details of books and audio visual materials held by the RIBA Library.

Search Tip: To restrict your search to journal articles only, make sure that collections is set to Journals.

Royal Institute of the Architects of Ireland

The Royal Institute of the Architects of Ireland (RIAI) is the regulatory and support body for architects in Ireland. Use the link below to access the RIAI Register of Architects and to download their official journal, Architecture Ireland

Products & materials

Barbour product search

Searchable database of building products and suppliers, including images, case studies, technical data, catalogues, news and project data.

ESI info

ESI's online product information service covering external works, building products, interior design and building services.

Materia

Dutch registration-based service providing free access to information on thousands of materials.

RIBA product selector

A leading resource on building products, NBS (National Building Specification) information and RIBA (Royal Incorporation of British Architects) CPD with free access to product catalogues, technical documents and contact information of over 10,000 UK manufacturers, suppliers, distributors, trade associations and construction service providers.

Stylepark

German registration-based service providing free access to information on thousands of design products and materials.

TRADA: Timber Research & Development Association

For "All you wanted to know about timber ..." in the construction industry.

Students and staff can register for free student membership:

Planning & regulations

DiscoverEd

Course resource lists

Referencing

Avoiding plagiarism

Looking for images?

Looking for theses and dissertations?

We have various databases dedicated to searching for theses and dissertations.