Film Studies

A journal, also known as a periodical, is a publication that contains scholarly articles (also known as research papers) written by different authors (such as your lecturer) on a particular subject topic. Journal articles usually represent current research because compared with scholarly books (also known as monographs), they have a much shorter turnaround time between submission and publication.

In journals you may also find reviews of new works or of other people's research. Book or film reviews can be found in newspapers as well as in journals.

DiscoverEd provides search for titles of all the journals, in print and electronic, that the Library subscirbes to. It also provides direct access to the full text of thousands of e-journal articles.

Journals

To retrieve a comprehensive list of the journals in print or electronic on Film Studies from DiscoverEd, you can use Advanced Search quick search by combining alternative search terms like this:

film* OR cinema* OR "motion pictures" (for trauncation and Boolean search techniques, see page "Researching a topic" in this guide)

and setting the pre-search limit to Journals for material type, as the following screenshot shows:

Or just click here to run the search and retrieve the list. As of 3 August 2020, the search result contains 370 journals on Film Studies, 272 of which are in English, 53 in French, 22 in Spanish, 17 in German, 13 in Chinese, 11 in Portuguese, 9 in Italian, and a small number in other languages.

Alternatively, also in the Advanced Search option in DiscoverEd, use "Motion pictures - Periodicals" as the subject search term and select 'Journals' for Material Type as the following screenshot illustrates:

Or just click here to run the search and retrieve the list.

If a printed journal you need is held at the University Collections Facility (UCF), you can use the Interlibrary Loans service to get the scanning of your required article which will be delivered to you by email. This service is free for Edinburgh University members.

Articles

There are two ways to limit search results to jornal articles:

1) by pre-limiting search resuts to "Articles" in "Material type" in Advanced Search:

Or:

2) by selecting "Articles" under the "Resource type" in the "Refine my results" filter menu on the left side of the search results page.

Book reviews

Book reviews can be found in the following sources:

• Scholarly journals
• Newspapers (e.g. Guardian Books)
• Databases (e.g. Factiva - thousands of newspapers in their original languages which also contain book reviews. Gale Literarture Sources offering reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world.)
• Important book review journals / newspapers:
  • The Bookman (historical)
  • London Review of Books
  • New York Review of Books
  • Times Literary Supplement (from 2010)
  • Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive 1902-2014

In DiscoverEd, use "REFINE MY RESULTS" to limit search results by "RESOURCE TYPE" for "REVIEWS".

Film reviews

Film reviews can be found in the following sources:

• Scholarly film journals (e.g. Film Quarterly, Film and Filming, and Positif.
  • To retrieve a list of film review journals in DiscoverEd, do SUBJECT SEARCH for "Motion pictures - Reviews - Periodicals", or see: List of film review periodicals
• Film focused databases (e.g. FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals)
• Newspapers (e.g. Guardian Film, Reverse Shot, Kamera)

In DiscoverEd, use "REFINE MY RESULTS" to limit search results by "RESOURCE TYPE" for "REVIEWS".