Education and Teacher Training
This guide to Library and information resources for Education & Teacher Training has been compiled by the Academic Support Librarian for Moray House School of Education & Sport.
Selected reference works for Education & Teacher Training
-
The BERA/SAGE Handbook of Educational Research [e-book]
by
Publication Date: 2017A cutting edge account of the research and methodology that is creating new understandings for education research, policy and practice. -
Encyclopedia of Teacher Education [e-book]
by
Publication Date: 2022A dynamic and living reference that student teachers, teacher educators, researchers and professionals in the field of education with an accent on all aspects of teacher education, including: teaching practice; initial teacher education; teacher induction; teacher development; professional learning; teacher education policies; quality assurance; professional knowledge, standards and organisations; teacher ethics; and research on teacher education, among other issues. -
Oxford Handbook of the History of Education [e-book]
by
Publication Date: 2019A global perspective on the historical development of educational institutions, systems of schooling, ideas about education, and educational experiences. -
Palgrave Handbook of Educational Thinkers [e-book]
by
Publication Date: 2024Presents a durable, comprehensive, and up-to-date resource covering the seminal thinkers in education of past and present. -
Routledge Handbook of International Education and Development [e-book]
by
Publication Date: 2015Takes stock of the range of debates that characterise the field of international education and development, and suggests key aspects of a research agenda for the next period. -
SAGE Handbook of Critical Pedagogies [e-book]
by
Publication Date: 2020This extensive handbook brings together different aspects of critical pedagogy with the aim of opening up a clear international conversation on the subject, as well as pushing the boundaries of current understanding by extending the notion of a pedagogy to multiple pedagogies and perspectives. -
SAGE Handbook of Early Childhood Research [e-book]
by
Publication Date: 2016Includes sections on: the field of early childhood research and its key contributions; new theories and theoretical approaches in early childhood research; collecting and analysing data; applications of early childhood research.
Selected journals for Education & Teacher Training
British Educational Research Journal
British Journal of Educational Psychology
British Journal of Educational Technology
Cambridge Journal of Education
Early Child Development & Care
Early Childhood Research Quarterly
Journal of Education for Teaching
Journal of Experiential Education
Journal of Philosophy of Education
Review of Educational Research
School Leadership & Management
Selected books for Education & Teacher Training
-
Developing as a Reflective Early Years Professional: A Thematic Approach [e-book]
by
Publication Date: 2024Helps early years students and practitioners to get to grips with the key issues, through a critical and thematic approach which focuses on reflective practice. -
The Educator and the Ordinary [e-book]
by
Publication Date: 2023This book creates a unique discursive environment to consider how initial teacher education can support student teachers in practical and personal senses, in what they can do and who they are. Engaging with the philosophy of Stanley Cavell, Gert Biesta and Nel Noddings, central capabilities of the educator are suggested. -
A Quick Guide to Research Methods for Dissertations in Education [e-book]
by
Publication Date: 2023This book gives practical information about a variety of research methods, including their pros and cons, things you need to consider before using each method and crucially, what they are not suitable for. It looks at the most commonly used methods as well as some you might not have come across before. -
Reflective Teaching in Primary Schools [e-book & print]
by
Publication Date: 2023The book you can trust to guide you through your teaching career, as the expert authors share tried and tested techniques in primary settings. -
Reflective Teaching in Secondary Schools [e-book]
by
Publication Date: 2023The book you can trust to guide you through your teaching career, as the expert authors share tried and tested techniques in secondary settings. -
Scottish Education (5th ed.) [e-book & print]
by
Publication Date: 2018Provides a detailed, informed and critical account of contemporary education in Scotland, examining each of the main sectors (early years, primary, secondary, further and higher) in depth, and scrutinizing the historical, cultural, political, and socio-economic dimensions within which schools, colleges and universities operate. -
Successful Dissertations: The Complete Guide for Education, Childhood and Early Childhood Studies Students [e-book & print]
by
Publication Date: 2018Whether looking for guidance on the whole process, needing help with conducting a literature review or interpreting your quantitative and qualitative data, this accessible and empowering guide will take you through the dissertation process and provide all the information you need to make the most of your research project. -
Teacher Preparation in Scotland [e-book]
by
Publication Date: 2020This book charts the origins and development of teacher preparation in Scotland from 1872 onwards, covering key milestones in policy and practice, and looking ahead to the future.
TES Magazine
How to access TES Magazine (available from 2023)
- All you need to do is create a new TES profile at: www.tes.com/authn/register
- Make sure you use your University of Edinburgh email address when you set up your account
- If you already have an account with a personal email address, you will still need to create a new profile with your University of Edinburgh email address to access TES Magazine
- Once that’s done, you can visit the TES Magazine homepage and start reading exclusive news, analysis, teaching and learning guides and research reviews.
Previous issues of Times Educational Supplement (TES) and TES Magazine are available via DiscoverEd.
Previous issues of Times Education Supplement Scotland are available via DiscoverEd.