Subject guides: Comparative Literature: Internet resources

This guide provides a general introduction to Library resources relating to Comparative Literature.

Internet resources

As differentiated from our Library licensed databases, the large, curated catalogue of internet resources in the three broad subject sections below are mostly free to access. In some cases users may be required to register or create an account. Every effort has been made by the Academic Support Librarian to ensure that the website content is suitable for academic study, but it is the user's own responsibility to check the authority, currency and accuracy of content.

Highlights of important internet resources

The Carlyle Letters Online

The Carlyle Letters Online includes over 12,000 letter written by Thomas and Jane Welsh Carlyle from 1812 to 1859, including correspondence with more than 600 recipients, such as Rober Browning, George Eliot, Ralph Waldo Emerson, John Stuart Mill and Charles Dickens. Coverage 1812-1859.

Yale Edition of the Works of Samuel Johnson

The Yale Edition of the Works of Samuel Johnson was founded in 1955 to replace the Oxford Edition of 1825 and make accurate texts of Johnson's complete works widely available. Works include Johnson's debates, poetry, sermons, literary criticism, essays and other genre.

Oxford Shakespeare

American Literature Sites

Including Nineteenth-Century Periodicals and Primary Sources

First Scottish Books

Including The Chapman and Myllar Prints held at the National Library of Scotland

Historical Monographs Collection

Cornell University's collection of monographs on a range of topics

The John Milton Reading Room

The John Milton Reading Room: the complete poetry and selected prose of John Milton, with introductions, research guides, and hyperlinked annotations. Thomas H. Luxon, General Editor © Trustees of Dartmouth College, 1997-2020.

Full text and digital archives

American Literature Sites
British Women Romantic Poets 1789 to 1832 An electronic collection of texts from the University of California, Davis
The Carlyle Letters Online The Carlyle Letters Online includes over 12,000 letter written by Thomas and Jane Welsh Carlyle from 1812 to 1859, including correspondence with more than 600 recipients, such as Rober Browning, George Eliot, Ralph Waldo Emerson, John Stuart Mill and Charles Dickens. Coverage 1812-1859.
The Complete Works of William Shakespeare
Digital Scriptorium Image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts in American institutions
Early Modern Literary Studies : Electronic Texts Links to select electronic texts of fifteenth, sixteenth, and seventeenth century materials which are on the Internet
English Literature : Early 17th Century (1603-1660)
First Scottish Books Including The Chapman and Myllar Prints held at the National Library of Scotland
The Harvard Classics : the Shelf of Fiction (in 70 volumes) The most comprehensive and well-researched anthology of all time comprises both the 50-volume “5-foot shelf of books” and the 20-volume Shelf of Fiction. Together they cover every major literary figure, philosopher, religion, folklore and historical subject through the twentieth century.
Historical Monographs Collection Cornell University's collection of monographs on a range of topics
Internet Library of Early Journals This is an archived version. This resource is no longer being updated.
The John Milton Reading Room The John Milton Reading Room: the complete poetry and selected prose of John Milton, with introductions, research guides, and hyperlinked annotations. Thomas H. Luxon, General Editor © Trustees of Dartmouth College, 1997-2020.
A Library of American Literature : From the Earliest Settlement to the Present Time in 11 volumes The 6,000 pages of the 11 volumes contain over 2,500 selections by more than 1,100 authors.
The Library of the World’s Best Literature : An Anthology in 30 volumes With 5,550 selections and over 1,000 essays on primary authors and literary genres, this 20,000-page anthology stands as a monument of the best critique and editorial expertise of the early twentieth century. Combined with the three reference volumes, it forms a complete universe of world literary study.
The Oxford Shakespeare The 1914 Oxford edition of the Complete Works of William Shakespeare ranks among the most authoritative published in the twentieth century. The 37 plays, 154 sonnets and miscellaneous verse constitute the literary cornerstone of Western civilization.
Poems, chiefly in the Scottish dialect
The Sacred Wood : Essays on Poetry and Criticism by T. S. Eliot
The Short-Story: Specimens Illustrating Its Development With a selection of 23 short stories from the Middle Ages to the beginning of the twentieth century, Brander Matthews—a pioneer of dramatic scholarship and professor at Columbia University—demonstrates, “the slow evolution of this literary species through the long centuries of advancing civilization.”
The Yale Edition of the Works of Samuel Johnson The Yale Edition of the Works of Samuel Johnson was founded in 1955 to replace the Oxford Edition of 1825 and make accurate texts of Johnson's complete works widely available. Works include Johnson's debates, poetry, sermons, literary criticism, essays and other genre.

Literary theory

Cultural Studies and Theory A collection of web links
Introduction to Modern Literary Theory
Literary Theory: A Literary Theory Project in the Dept. of English, Rice University
Society for Critical Exchange The SCE is North America's oldest scholarly organization devoted to theory.

Reference resources

Glossary of Literary Terms
ipl Literary Criticism he ipl Literary Criticism Collection contains critical and biographical websites about authors and their works that can be browsed by author, by title, or by nationality and literary period.
Scots Online

Directories, Bibliographies, Projects, and Book Reviews

Association for Scottish Literary Studies
Bibliography of Scottish Literature
Bibliography of Scottish Literature in Translation
Commonwealth Writers
The Dickens Project
Literature Wales
Scottish Poetry Library
Shakespeare's Life and Times
Spenser Online
Women Writers Project A long-term research project devoted to early modern women's writing and electronic text encoding.

Virtual Training Suite - Internet for English

Virtual Training Suite is a set of free Internet tutorials to help you develop Internet research skills for your university course. All of the tutorials are written and reviewed by a national team of lecturers and librarians from universities across the UK.

Internet for modern languages is a free online tutorial to help university students develop their Internet research skills.

Google Scholar

You can use Google Scholar to search for academic resources including journal articles, peer-reviewed papers, books and theses.

Further:

Using Google for research

RefSeek

RefSeek (https://www.refseek.com/) is a web and document search engine for students and researchers that aims to make academic information easily accessible to everyone. RefSeek searches more than five billion documents, including web pages, books, encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, journals, and newspapers. You can also find a lot of English Literature related resources there.

Literary prizes

The Booker Prizes
The Commonwealth Short Story Prize
James Tait Black Memorial Prizes The James Tait Black Prizes, established in 1919, are Britain's longest running literary awards.
Literary Prizes
Literary Traveler Literary Traveler is dedicated to the exploration of the literary imagination. It aims to bring you inspiring, informative articles about writers, creative artists, and the places that they lived and traveled.
National Book Awards
The Nobel Prize in Literature
The Pulizer Prizes
The Walter Scott Prize for History Fiction
Women's Prize for Fiction Previously known as Orange Prize for Fiction (1996–2006 and 2009–12), Orange Broadband Prize for Fiction (2007–08) and Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction (2014–2017)

Toggle navigation menu Menu

Comparative Literature