Centre for Open Learning
A guide to Library resources and services for the Centre for Open Learning.
Library News and Events
Information about Library news, training, events and service updates.
Resource Lists
- Resource Listsfor COL courses.
Referencing and Reference Management
Our guide to referencing and reference management includes information on a range of resources resources to help you get your references right and avoid plagiarism.
SAGE Research Methods
- SAGE Research MethodsOffers books, case studies, datasets, journal articles, podcasts and detailed guidance on research methods.
Looking for images?
- Image & moving images databasesCheck out our collections of still and moving images.
LinkedIn Learning
- LinkedIn LearningA high quality online skills development service for staff and students.
Databases for Linguistics & English Language
- Linguistic & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)Abstracts 2000 journals worldwide with coverage of books, papers. technical reports, dissertations, book reviews from 1973 onwards.
- MLA International BibliographyCitations to critical documents on literature, language, linguistics and folklore from over 4,400 journals and series and over 1000 book publishers. Also covers monographs, reference works and collections, including working papers, conference papers and proceedings.
Searchable full-text resources from Oxford University Press
- Oxford BibliographiesAuthoritative research guides, featuring the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects, including linguistics.
- Oxford Handbooks Online: Scholarly Research ReviewsAn outstanding collection of the best Handbooks in fifteen subject areas, including linguistics.
- Oxford Scholarship OnlineA vast and rapidly-expanding online library, providing easy access to thousands of books across the world-renowned scholarly list of Oxford University Press, including around 450 titles for linguistics.
Some language reference tools
- Alpha Language DictionaryMultiple language dictionaries covering Abenaki to Zulu.
- British Library: Sounds FamiliarCaptures and celebrates the diversity of spoken English of the United Kingdom in the second half of the 20th century.
- GlottopediaA freely editable encyclopedia for linguists by linguists that is currently being built up.
Academic Support Librarian
Introduction to literature searching for your dissertation
The link below takes you to of a recording of a live session for students in the College of Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences (CAHSS) which looks at developing a search strategy, resources available from the Library to help you search the literature and how to manage your search results. Delivered as part of the Library's Dissertation Festival (March, 2021).
