Jazz

The Academic Support Librarian team have created two new subject guides giving advice on resources relating to race studies, diversifying and decolonising the curriculum, and matters relating to EDI (Equality, Diversity and Inclusion).

You can access the Diversifying Toolkit here.

This guide assists with the work of diversifying resources used in teaching. Designed to help academic staff begin assessing the readings they already use to make their curriculum more inclusive.

You can find the Race and Decolonial Studies subject guide here.

• RIPM Jazz:

An essential, unique collection of American jazz periodicals, a primary source reference and research tool, and of great importance to any lover of jazz and its history. This database benefits from RIPM’s partnership with the Institute of Jazz Studies at Rutgers University, which holds the most extensive collection of jazz periodicals in the world.

• Qwest TV EDU: A global hub for music and culture, founded by Quincy Jones, giving access to 1300+ concerts and documentary films in jazz, soul, funk, classical and global music. Listed on DiscoverEd and on the Music databases list and A-Z of library databases.

Click here for the complete list of music-related databases which the Library subscribes to for your studies and research.

The Music Library at Edinburgh Central (public) Library, George IV Bridge, contains the largest collection of publicly accessible material on music and dance in Scotland, including sheet music, books and recorded music on CD, DVD, and streaming through Naxos Music Library. It also loans sets of vocal and orchestral music to local choirs and orchestras and has a digital piano, a digital keyboard and electronic drum kit in their music practice room, and an Acoustic Pod available to book. 

We have various databases dedicated to searching for theses and dissertations.