Skip to main content
The University of Edinburgh home
Show/hide site search
Information Services

Science, Technology and Innovation Studies

Welcome to the Science, Technology and Innovation Studies subject guide - your guide to using the library resources, services and facilities for your subject.

Main Library

Main Library
George Square
Edinburgh
EH8 9LJ

Email: is.helpdesk@ed.ac.uk

Getting to know the Main Library

This Main Library tour was created prior to the Covid-19 pandemic and is still very useful for finding out what resources, services and facilities are available in the Main Library and familiarising yourself with the building. However, due to the Covid-19 pandemic there are changes to access to the building and availability of physical resources, services and facilities. Make sure you check the Library Services Update website for full information and to keep up-to-date with current situation.

Where are the science, technology and innovation studies books in the Library?

The Main Library holds the majority of books for Science, Technology and Innovation Studies. Most of the books in the Main Library are in the HUB Collection on the ground floor or on the 2nd or 3rd floors, depending on their shelfmark.

The most common shelfmarks for Science, Technology and Innovation Studies start with:

H Social Science including statistics, economics, finance, sociology, social welfare, etc.
Q Science including maths, physics, chemistry, geology, biology, etc.
T Technology including engineering, construction, chemical technology, etc.

Remember the Library has access to thousands of e-books which you can access via DiscoverEd.

Centre for Research Collections

The Centre for Research Collections (CRC) is the main space for anyone using the University of Edinburgh's historic and special collections, including rare books and manuscripts, University of Edinburgh archives, personal and institutional archives, Lothian Health Services Archives, University of Edinburgh PhD theses, art collection, musical instrument collection and more.

The CRC are based on the 6th floor, Main Library.

undefined
Correspondence of Sir Charles Lyell, Di-Gr, 1827-1874 (random selection). Catalogue number: Coll-203/1 folio(s) 1069-1701. © University of Edinburgh. See original image.

Other University of Edinburgh Libraries

There are 10 other site libraries at the University that you can visit and use. 

Edinburgh College of ArtMoray House libraryInternal photo of New College LibraryRoyal infirmary Library