Skip to main content
The University of Edinburgh home
Show/hide site search
Information Services

Veterinary medicine

A range of links to library and information resources for veterinary medicine. These include local collections, networked services and external websites.

Find books and e-books

Use DiscoverEd to find books, ebooks, ejournal articles and more. Use EASE to access your Library Account and manage loans, requests and fines.

Need help using DiscoverEd? Check the FAQs.

Exam papers

Exam Papers Online provides access to the collected degree examination papers of the University from 2004 onwards. They may be used by students as a study aid only.

Referencing

Finding veterinary literature

CAB Abstracts
CAB Abstracts is the world's leading agricultural database. Find journals, books, conferences and reports. It covers significant research and development literature in the fields of animal and crop husbandry, animal and plant breeding, plant protection, genetics, forestry, veterinary medicine, aspects of human health, human nutrition, rural development, leisure and tourism and the management and conservation of natural resources

Web of Science
Citations and abstracts to millions of journal articles and conference proceedings. Impact factors, h-indexes and email alerts available.

MEDLINE
Covering worldwide medical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues and health care services. 

BIOSIS Citation Index
The electronic version of Biological Abstracts provides information about contents of journals, meetings, patents, and books in the life sciences and biomedical research. Covers pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies.

More databases for Veterinary medicine

Getting help

If you would like help with your literature search or with finding information you can contact me directly to book a session in person, phone or online.

If you need to contact us for help with any Library service please get in touch with the IS Helpdesk. There is also a copyright service for related enquiries and an online form if you would like to make a comment, complaint or suggestion.

Other useful resources

Help finding information online
Useful tips and advice to help find information for study and research online using Library databases, ejournals and the internet.


Grey literature
Grey literature are sources of literature which may be considered unpublished, or non-standard academic literature, eg theses and technical reports. In addition, reports from government or organisations working in your field of interest which may be of the right standard for your work.

Theses
Information about theses, including access and submission.

 

Resources for distance learning students

The Library provides access to many eresources, but we also provide lots of other services and support for students on online distance learning programmes.

Library services for online and distance learning students

Academic Support Librarian

Fiona Brown's picture
Fiona Brown
Contact:
The Lady Smith of Kelvin Veterinary Library
Easter Bush
0131 650 6176

Course Resource Lists

Lookup resource lists by list title, course title, course code or course instructor.

Please note that not all Biological Sciences courses have a Resource List.

Found a resource that's unavailable?

Use Inter-Library Loans and Intra-Library Loans to have resources (digital and hardcopies) delivered from other campuses and other libraries around the world.

Can't find a book you need for your studies?
Use the Request a Book service to tell us and we will try and buy it for the library.

Lynda.com