Skip to main content
The University of Edinburgh home
Show/hide site search
Information Services

Divinity

Welcome to the Divinity subject guide - your guide to using the library resources, services and facilities for your subject.

Theology & Ethics

Library resources relating to Theology & Ethics will be found throughout in New College Library and the Main Library – check your reading list on DiscoverEd. However, classmark BL, BT and BX may prove useful places to browse. 

  • Excellent current and historic collections for theology and good collections for philosophy can be accessed at New College Library
  • Excellent historic and current print collections for philosophy and excellent historic collections for theology can be accessed at the Main Library.

Centre for Research Collections

 

The Centre for Research Collections (CRC) is the main space for anyone using the University of Edinburgh's historic and special collections, including rare books and manuscripts, University of Edinburgh archives, personal and institutional archives, University of Edinburgh PhD theses, art collections, and more. The CRC Collections represent over four hundred years of collecting in the areas of theology and ethics.

The CRC are based on the 6th floor, Main Library.

Databases for Theology & Ethics

Journals for Theology & Ethics

Search DiscoverEd to find print and electronic Theology & Ethics journals. These include:

New College Library Special Collections for Theology & Ethics

New College Library holds an outstanding collection of early theological books and archives. The collections cover patristics, hagiography, Reformation writers including Calvin and Knox, eighteenth century Seceders e.g. Ebenezer & Ralph Erskine, the nineteenth century Church in Scotland, Westminster Confessions and Hymnology. . The New College Library archives hold the papers of several twentieth century theologians including J.H. Oldham..New College Library Special Collections

Reference books for Theology & Ethics

Search DiscoverEd to find print and electronic Religious Studies reference books, or browse the shelves in the New College Library Hall. These include:

Digital text collections