Skip to main content
The University of Edinburgh home
Show/hide site search
Information Services

Divinity

Welcome to the Divinity subject guide - your guide to using the library resources, services and facilities for your subject.

Ecclesiastical History

Books relating to Ecclesiastical History will be found at a variety of locations in New College Library and the Main Library – check this on DiscoverEd. However, classmarks BR for Christianity and BX for Christian Denominations might be useful places to browse – you’ll find these books in Stack I. 

  • Excellent current and historic collections for Ecclesiastical history can be accessed at New College Library
  • Strong historic and current print collections for Ecclesiastical history can also be accessed at the Main Library.

Books for Ecclesiastical History

Centre for Research Collections

Scottish Metrical Psalter, 1562-1592, Thomas Wood (Wode) of St Andrews (Dk.5.14),The Centre for Research Collections (CRC) is the main space for anyone using the University of Edinburgh's historic and special collections, including rare books and manuscripts, University of Edinburgh archives, personal and institutional archives, Lothian Health Services Archives, University of Edinburgh PhD theses, art collection, musical instrument collection and more.

The CRC are based on the 6th floor, Main Library.

Databases for Ecclesiastical History

Journals for Ecclesiastical history

Search DiscoverEd to find print and electronic Ecclesiastical History journals. These include:

New College Library Special Collections for Ecclesiastical History

New College Library holds an outstanding collection of early theological books and archives. The collections cover patristics, hagiography, Reformation writers including Calvin and Knox, eighteenth century Seceders e.g. Ebenezer & Ralph Erskine, the nineteenth century Church in Scotland, Westminster Confessions and Hymnology. From collections of the very earliest printed books, incunabula, to substantial collections of around 35,000 16th-20th century pamphlets New College Library has a huge range of source materials for original research in ecclesiastical history. The New College Archives have a substantial collection of the papers of Thomas Chalmers, a very significant figure in the nineteenth century Scottish church.

New College Library Special Collections

Reference books for Ecclesiastical history

Search DiscoverEd to find print and electronic Ecclesiastical history reference books, or browse the shelves in the New College Library Hall. These include:

Digital Text Collections