Skip to main content
The University of Edinburgh home
Show/hide site search
Information Services

Divinity

Welcome to the Divinity subject guide - your guide to using the library resources, services and facilities for your subject.

Finding e-books

The Library has purchased access to more than 1.4 million e-books. These can all be accessed via DiscoverEd

You can also browse an A-Z list of purchased e-book collections and find out more about using them.

Many e-books have also been made freely available on the internet. Some are out of copyright and therefore in the public domain. Others have been made available through Open Access initiatives. Some of these free e-books may appear in DiscoverEd, but many may not, so you may find the links below useful.

Theological Commons (Princeton Theological Seminary)

 

The Theological Commons is a digital library of over 130,000 resources on theology and religion. Developed in partnership with the Internet Archive it contains books, journals, audio recordings, photographs, manuscripts, and other formats dating from 975 C.E. to the present.

Project Gutenberg

 

Project Gutenberg contains over 50,000 copyright-free e-books.

Open Access Publishing in European Networks

 

The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of Humanities and Social Sciences. 

The Internet Archive

 

The Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more. It contains more than 8,000,000 e-books which are in the public domain. 

Directory of Open Access Books

 

The Directory of Open Access Books provides access to more than 3,000 academic e-books across subject areas.