Skip to main content
The University of Edinburgh home
Show/hide site search
Information Services

International Development

Welcome to the International Development subject guide - your guide to using the library resources, services and facilities for your subject.

Where are the International Development books in the Library?

The Main Library holds the majority of books for International Development.

  • Books that are on undergraduate reading lists will generally be in the HUB (High Use Book) Collection on the ground floor
  • Most other books are on the 2nd floor
  • There is a specialist Centre of African Studies (CAS) Collection on the 4th floor

The most common shelfmarks for African Studies start with:

H H is the classification for all Social Sciences, which will broken down geographically in each area e.g. HQ The Family.
HD HD is the classification for the social science of industrialization, land use and labour.
C.A.S. This is the shelfmark for the Centre for African Studies Collection on the 4th floor

But International Development crosses over with a wide range of other subject areas and disciplines so you may find yourself looking for other shelfmarks that you have identified by using DiscoverEd.

Remember the Library has access to thousands of e-books which you can access via DiscoverEd.

Getting to know the Main Library

A scrollable online tour of the Main Library to help you familiarise yourself with the building and its facilities, services and resources.

Other University of Edinburgh Libraries

There are 10 other site libraries at the University that you can visit and use. 

Edinburgh College of ArtMoray House libraryInternal photo of New College LibraryRoyal infirmary Library

Centre for Research Collections

 

The Centre for Research Collections (CRC) is the main space for anyone using the University of Edinburgh's historic and special collections, including rare books and manuscripts and the University of Edinburgh archives. The University Archives holds several African Studies related collections, including the papers of John William Arthur, Joseph Booth, William Scott and Helen M. Taylor.

All of these collections can be accessed at the CRC on the 6th floor, Main Library.

What is the University Collections Facility?

The University Collections Facility (formerly known as the Library Annexe) is the University's off-campus storage facility. Material can be requested and delivered to Main Library or site library for borrowing or you can request scans of single chapters or articles via electronic document delivery.