Skip to main content
The University of Edinburgh home
Show/hide site search
Information Services

Social Anthropology

Welcome to the Social Anthropology subject guide - your guide to using the library resources, services and facilities for your subject.

Finding scholarly literature

Use these databases to search for scholarly literature e.g. journal articles, book chapters & reviews, conference reports and proceedings, etc., for your subject area.


Using DiscoverEd to find scholarly literature

 
As well as searching the Library's physical and local collections i.e. books, e-books, journals, etc., DiscoverEd is also searching a wide range of the e-journals and databases the Library has access to so it's easy to find scholarly literature. DiscoverEd is always a good place to start your searching.

Google Scholar

You can use Google Scholar to search for academic resources including journal articles, peer-reviewed papers, books and theses.

Newspapers

Use these key databases to search for and access current full-text newspaper and news sources articles, including both UK and international titles.

The Library has access to a large number of newspaper databases that allow you to search for both current and archive content.

Images and moving images


Databases for other subject areas

The academic field of Social Anthropology crosses over with a number of other disciplines. Depending on your research area it may be worthwhile looking at the databases available in other subject areas e.g.

See a full list of subjects and their recommended databases at:

E-resources trials

The Library regularly arranges trials to new resources, including databases. It's always worthwhile checking the list of current trials as there could be something available for a short period that is just what you are looking for.